Adoptions -- California
California Statistical Abstract
In 2008 ed., see Table E-13: Children Placed for Adoption in California 1995-2007
Alcohol-Related Hospital Admissions in Orange County
Health Data Summaries for California Counties: 2006
Print: DOCS/STATE CALIF H1150 H41
Online: Health Data Summaries for California Counties
America -- Cultural History by Decades
American Decades Primary Sources(2004)
American Decades (1994)
Day By Day: The Forties
Day by Day: The Fifties
Day by Day: The Sixties
Day by Day: The Seventies
Day by Day: The Eighties
Day by Day: The Nineties
ASMT: American Society for Testing and Materials Standards
The ASTM web site gives info on obtaining standards.
Auctions -- Government Auctions -- Surplus Property Sales
Beige Book - Economic Conditions and Indicators
Bills - Active Legislation
Active Legislation [Senate]
Bills - Legislative history of bills in current session of Congress
Congressional Record Index
Section: 'History of Bills and Resolutions' gives information about bills and resolutions introduced, including action
Bills - Tracking
Birth Certificates -- Death -- Marriage -- Divorce -- All States
Brown Act -- Secret Meeting Law -- Ralph M. Brown Act
See West's California Code, Government code, Section 54950+
Passed in 1961.
Also in California Statutes: 1961, Chapter 115, p. 1127 -- DOCS/STATE CALIF L325
Brown v. Board of Education
Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia - see entry "Brown v. Board of education" on p. 67.
Budget -- Federal Spending
OMB site, free, searchable database of $16.8 trillian in federal government spending.
Bush Administration -- distortion of science
Climate Change Research Distorted and Suppressed [Union of Concerned Scientists]
Politics and the Erosion of Federal Scientific Capacity [commentary] (2007)
Bush Administration -- Information removed from government agency web sites
Bush Administration -- signing statements -- WCPD
Claiming power to open mail without a warrant under emergency conditions:
Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act (H.R. 6407, Public Law 109-435), Dec. 20 2006
Buying a Home - HUD
Buying Power Index -- BPI
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide -- see "County" section
Cal State Fullerton -- Crime Rate
Annual Security Report [CSUF]
CSUF campus crime statistics [U.S. Dept. of Education]
Cal State Fullerton - Student Demographics - Statistics - Enrollment - Graduation Rates, etc.
California History and Government
California Blue Book, 2000
Note: The 2000 ed. is a special edition covering 1850-2000. Many photos.
California -- Los Angeles -- Consumer Price Index
California Map Series -- Congressional District Maps - State Senate Districts - State Assembly Districts - County Maps
California Map Series [California Voter Foundation] (RCP)
California Salaries by Occupation [EDD]
California -- Taxable Sales and Use Tax -- 1997-present
California -- Unemployment
Cancer Registries [CDC]
President's Cancer Panel [NCI]
O*NET Online - descriptions of work/occupations for job seekers
Census Tract Locator
Advanced Geography Search (census tract locator)
Census Tracts - 1990 - Orange County
Century Statistics for Decades 1900-2000
Charitable Organizations - Tax Info
Children -- Cost of Raising
Expenditures on Children by Families (1975-present) [USDA]
Cigarette and Smokeless Tobacco Ruling - 1996 - FDA's Final Rule Restricting Sale to Adolescents and Children
Regulation of Cigarettes and Smokeless Tobacco Under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (1996)
From Federal Register: Proposed rule, jurisdictional analysis and appendices, related notices, final rule with jurisdictional determination
Citation Generator for Government Documents
OPAC subject heading: citizenship study and teaching
Study Materials for the Civics Exam - practice questions
Congressional Record - CSUF holdings
Call Number: DOCS/US X
We have microfilm for 1789-1976; 1977-1981 on microfiche, 1978- in paper. Call no. is X for permanent edition, x/a for daily edition.
Continental Congress 1774-1781
Congress of the Confederation 1781-1789
Congress of the United States 1789-
TITLE CHANGES - CONGRESSIONAL RECORD:
Annals of Congress, 1-18 1789-1824
Register of Debates, 18-25 1824-1837
Congressional Globe, 23-42 1833-1873
Congressional Record, 43 1873-
Congressional Salaries 1789 - 2006
Constitutional Amendment Process
The Constitutional Amendment Process [National Archives]
Print: Encyclopedia of the American Constitution - see 'amending process' (2000)
Consumer Expenditure Survey
OPAC subject heading: consumers united states statistics
OPAC subject heading: consumption (economics) united states statistics
Consumer Price Index - CPI -Los Angeles --
Consumer Price Index -- Los Angeles-Riverside-Orange Ccounty, CA - CPI
Copyright Basics [U.S. Copyright Office]
How to Investigate the Copyright Status of a Work [U.S. Copyright Office, Circular 22]
Copyright Status of Government Documents
Copyright Circular 92, "Copyright Law of the United States of America" (DOCS DESK LC 3.4/2:92/2000. page 14) states that:
"Copyright protection under this title is not available for any work of the United States Government, but the United States Government is not precluded from receiving and holding copyrights transferred to it by assignment, bequest, or otherwise."
Copyright Office's Circular #1, "Copyright Basics" (LC 3.4/2:1/993, page 5) states that "Works by the U.S. Government are not eligible for copyright protection."
Cost of Living Index
ACCRA Cost of Living Index -- in REFERENCE
Davis-Bacon Wage Determinations
Economic Data by Region
Beige Book [Federal Reserve]
Economy at a Glance [BLS]
Employment - projections
Employment Projections by Occupations (Stat Ab 2010 Table 605)
Employment Projections by industry (Stat Ab 2010 Table 608
Faculty Salaries at California Public Universities, 2007-08
Federal Grants to California
FICE Number -- School Codes Needed to Fill Out Financial Aid Forms -- Title IV Code
Federal School Code Search [FAFSA]
FIPS -- State and Place Codes
Frameworks -- California Dept. of Education
Freedom of Information Act
Games -- Educational -- Nobel Prizes
Educational Games [Nobelprize.org]
GATT - text
Uruguay Round Trade Agreements, texts of agreements . . .
DOCS/US Y 1.1/2:14245 and 14246
(2 volumes - 4,000 pages)
Geneva Convention -- Treatment of Prisoners of War
Geneva Convention relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War -- adopted 12 Aug 1949 [UNHCHR]
Government -- Forms of Government (democracy, monarchy, etc.)
The Book of Rule: How the World is Governed (2004)
REFERENCE JF51 .B583 2004
Lists each country of the world and describes its form of government.
LC Subject Headings: Comparative government (limit to Ref and sort by date)
LC Subject Headings: Political science (limit to Ref and sort by date)
Green Book [GPO Access]
Includes discussion and data on Medicare, SSI, unemployment compensation, TANF (welfare), child support enforcement, child care, Head Start, elderly, poverty, welfare benefits for noncitizens, effects of welfare reform initiatives, teen pregnancy, and more.
Program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. It has become a standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States. It is compiled by the staff of the Committee on Ways and Means of the U.S. House of Representatives. GPO Access contains the Green Book 1996, 1998, 2000 and 2004.
Harmonized Tariff Schedule
See also: Schedule B (exports codes)
Images and photos - government images in public domain
Implicit Price Deflators
Economic Indicators [GPO Access]
Select an issue. 'Implicit Price Deflators' is listed in table of contents.
Economic Report of the President – see "Statistical Tables" contents – some years list it, some years don’t
Import Price Indexes -- Export Price Indexes
Import/Export Price Indexes [BLS]
Note: For country data, select LOCALITY OF ORIGIN.
For foreign countries:
World Bank web site - www.worldbank.org
Click on DATA & RESEARCH
Click on plus sign to left of DATA
Click on plus sign to left of DATA (sometimes you have to do this twice)
Click on AAGs
In dropdown box, select a country
Scroll down to TRADE - import price index appears here.
Import Prices - Export Prices
OECD Economic Outlook - DOCS/INT HC10 .O18
About two-thirds into each issue, there is a list of Annex Tables. Go to the list of Annex Tables and look under External Trade and Payments. Listed are tables for Import Prices and also Export Prices. The tables give 10-15 years of data for each OECD country.
International Financial Statistics Yearbook - LATEST AT REF DESK
Under INTERNATIONAL TRANSACTIONS, for some countries (but not all) import prices and export prices are given.
Income by Age, Race, Gender: 1960-1997
Measuring 50 Years of Economic Change
Print: DOCS/US C 3.186:P-60/203
Income Data 1900-1998
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1999 - see Section 31.
Economic Report of the President -- Varies by year. Usually in the first few chapters.
Indian Tribes - Native Americans - American Indians
1990 Census: Characteristics of American Indians by Tribe and Language CATALOG RECORD
PRINT: DOCS/US C 3.223/10:1990 CP-3-7/sec.1 and sec. 2
Population by tribe. Social characteristics. Data for U.S. and by state, region, metropolitan statistical areas (MSA's).
2000 Census: The American Indian and Native Population: 2000
Population by tribe is given in Table 5. Ten largest tribes. Ten places with largest population or highest percentage of Native American population. Discussion and statistics.
Industry Data - Annual Services Survey
Annual Services Report
For each industry (transportation, information sector, securities, professional services, health care, entertainment) gives detailed revenue and expenses data. Annual and quarterly reports. Historical reports.
Inflation -- U.S. -- historical data -- Ibbotson's
Stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation . . . yearbook
Also called Ibbotson's.
Inflation -- Other Countries
Background Notes [U.S. Dept. of State] - select a country -- ECONOMY section usually gives inflation rate
Mergent Online--Country Profiles includes inflation for most countries in the section ECONOMY.
World Economic Outlook Database - select a country and work follow prompts to get to 'inflation' data
World Bank - in menu bar click on COUNTRIES, select a country, and then SEARCH: inflation
Intelligence -- U.S. Intelligence
OPAC subject: intelligence service united states -- Limit/sort by year of publication
Katrina -- Hurrican Evacuees -- Where They Settled -- Maps
LA Times article with extensive discussion, maps, charts, statistics:
'Evacuees of Hurricane Katrina Resettle Along a Racial Divide." [Home ed.]
LAT, Dec. 12, 2005. pg. A1. By Tomas Alex Tizon and Doug Smith.
Legal Research - Law Research - How To
Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law
Easy to understand step-by-step info on legal research.
Laws - Foreign Countries
Library of Congress - history of
Full Circle: Ninety Years of Service in the Main Reading Room
DOCS/US LC 1.2:C 49/3
For Congress and the Nation: A Chronological History
DOCS/US LC 1.2:C 76/6
On These Walls: Inscriptions
DOCS/US LC 1.2: W 15
Lyrics -- Children's Songs
NIEHS Kids' Pages: Young and Old Favorites -- lyrics to favorite songs
Medicate - state differences
Megan's Law -- U.S.
Megan's Law. Public Law 104-145. REFERENCE KF50 .U5 110 stat.1345-pl 104-145
Megan's Law: Report . . . with Additional Views. 1996. DOCS/US Y 1.1/8:104-555
Megan's Law: Legislative History. REFERENCE KF63 .U4x 1996/Vol. 4, page 980
Library of Congress / Thomas: http://thomas.loc.gov
Under LEGISLATION, click on Bill Text PREVIOUS
Under Bill Text, click on 104 (1995-96)
Search Word/Phrase: megan's law
Scroll down and click on Megan's Law (Enrolled Bill) [H.R. 2137.ENR]
Click on Link to Bill Summary & Status file
For LEGISLATIVE HISTORY: click on All Bill Summary & Status Info (except bill text)
For TEXT OF BILL: scroll down and click on TEXT OF LEGISLATION
For TEXT of Public Law 104-145: At top of screen, click on Public Law 104-145 Text or PDF
Congressional Universe has similar information.
Megan's Law -- California
Megan's Law -- California Attorney General's Office
NAFTA -- 8 year report
NAFTA - 7 year report
NAFTA —5-Year Report
NAFTA Works for America (1999)
PRINT: DOCS US/ PREX 9.2: B 76
Concise report from the U.S. Trade Representative's Office
NAFTA - text
National Parks -- Basic info -- not documents
Complete Guide to America's National Parks
REF SB 482 .A4 C65 1996/97
National Parks / by David Muench
REF ATLASES E160 M93 1986
America's National Parks : The Spectacular Forces that Shaped Our Treasured Lands
6TH FLOOR OVERSIZE E160 .A5794 2001
America's Scientific Treasures: A Travel Companion
REFERENCE Q105.U5 A64 1998
Nutrient Data from USDA
Occupation by race
Employment and Earnings - January issue
Table heading is something like: 'Employed persons by occupation, race, Hispanic or Latino ethnicity . . .'
Statistical Abstract of the united States: 2010 -- Table 606: Occupations of the Employed by Selected Characteristics -- gives broad occupational levels by race
Occupations - projections
Employment Projections by Occupations (Stat Ab 2010 Table 605)
Employment Projections by industry (Stat Ab 2010 Table 608
Newspapers - Orange County -- early years
Following are some local newspapers:
Fullerton News Tribune - see OPAC record for years of coverage
Placentia Courier - see OPAC record for years of coverage
Santa Ana Daily - see OPAC record for years of coverage
Evening Blade (Santa Ana Daily) - see OPAC record for years of coverage
Plants - botany
Plants [USDA] - database
Plants: Image Gallery [UDSA]
Poverty -- California
Presidents as Poets
Presidents as Poets: Poeetry Written by United States Presidents [Library of Congress]
Federal Register, Wed., august 18, 1993
Vol. 58 No. 158
See inside back cover.
Retrospective Indexes to Government Documents
These are all shelved together in COMPACT STACKS:
COMPACT STACKS Z1223 .A18
Documents Catalog 1893-1940
Monthly Catalog 1895-
Roe v. Wade
Roe v. Wade — 410 U.S. 113
ONLINE: Roe et al v. Wade Supreme Court Decision 410 U.S. 113. NOTE: Scroll down to ROE V. WADE
ONLINE: Full text on FindLaw : Roe v. Wade
PRINT: United States Reports, vol.410, p. 113. REFERENCE KF101 .A212 v. 410 p.113.
PRINT: Supreme Court Reporter, vol. 93, p. 705. REFERENCE KF101 S95 v.93 p.705
PRINT: United States Supreme Court reports. Lawyers' edition. Second series, vol. 35, page 147. Reference KF105 .U52 1957 v. 35, p.147
PRINT: 25th Anniversary of Roe V. Wade: Has It Stood the Test of Time? 1998.
DOCS/US Y 4.J 89/2:S.HRG.105-463
PRINT: " Abortion: Roe v. Wade – Milestones in the Law "
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, 1998,Volume 1, pages 10-21 and pages 313-399
REFERENCE KF 154 .W47 1998, Volume 1, pages 10-21 and pages 313-399
Salaries by occupation by location
National Compensation Survey -- Wages -- MSA and national statistics
Employment and Earnings
See table: "Median weekly earnings by detailed occupation and sex" in January issue or online
Print: DOCS/US L 2.41/2:
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Description includes earnings.
Occupational Employment Statistics
See "Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates"
State level data.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Digital Sanborn Maps - subscription only - not subscribed to by CSUF
Serial Set -- U.S. Congressional Serial Set: Schedule of Serial Set Volumes
Serial Set Volumes (1987-present -- 100th Congress-present) [GPO ACCESS]
Serial Set -- Numerical Lists of Documents and Reports
Serial Set--Numerical Lists (1987-present -- 100th Congress-present) [GPO ACCESS]
Sanctions -- Economic Sanctions by Country
Sanctions Programs: Country and List-based [Office of Foreign Assets Control / Treasury Dept.]
Shepardizing in LexisNexis - Shepardize
Whil viewing full text of case in LexisNexis, at right: change NEXT STEP to SHEPARDIZE and click GO.
Small Businesses - by County and by Zip Code
County Business Patterns and Zip Code Business Patterns give statistics on employment size, breaking it down to "Establishments by employment size 1-5, 6-10, 11-20, etc.)"
Search: Search County Business Patterns and Zip Code Business Patterns
Note: Census Bureau does not seem to use the term "small business" - rather, it uses "employment size."
Spain - Provinces and Regions
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Note: The encyclopedia "Cities of the World" has a section on Spain that gives a one-sentence description of each province.
1. Provinces of Spain -- lists provinces and links to articles on each province
2. Autonomous Communities of Spain
Commerical web site with map and info on provinces.
Spam - Reporoting - How to Report
Spam [U.S. Dept. of Justice]
How to report spam.
Suicide - California
Death Profiles by ZIP Code - CA Dept. of Public Health / Vital Statistics
Suicide - Orange County
County Health Status Profiles: Individual County Data Sheets
Select a county and then use EDIT/Find: suicide
Tasini Supreme Court Decision
The following article gives background and analysis of the Supreme Court decision on copyright issues involved in aggregate databases. The article is available full text in Factiva.
"Understanding and Surviving Tasini", (Jonathan Tasini copyright case) / George H. Pike. Information Today, Volume 18; Issue 9, 1 October 2001
Taxes -- Where do your tax dollars go?
Taxes - History
Tax History Project - history of U.S. public finance
Textbook Collection in AVCMC - Textbooks
OPAC keyword search: LRDC
(Series title: Learning Resource Display Center)
Theses and Dissertations from University of Oregon Microfilms
9/4/97 Class assignment: "Locate thesis or dissertation about biomechanics from University of Oregon microforms."
OPAC WORD search: biomechanics
LIMIT TO WHERE: periodicals
This will give a list of dissertations which are in microfiche collection.
NOTE: In general, Pollak Library has theses from CSUF in paper only. However, there are a fair number of theses from other universities on microfiche in this collection in Periodicals.
Time use Survey - Married Parents
American Time Use Survey
Includes archived editions, 2003-present.
Time spent on household activities, childcare, married mothers, married fathers, etc.
Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, 1848
Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo (1848) - transcript [www.ourdocuments.gov)
STAT-USA -- in library, at Ref Desk only
Exporters Encyclopedia - country-by-country regulations
Export Basics Home [Export.gov]
Employment & Earnings - see January issue online
Print: DOCS/US L 2.41.2:47/1
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
In print and also e-book (search opac by title).
Volume 1 has in-depth information about the United Nations and its related agencies: UNESCO, World Health Organization (WHO), International Monetary Fund (IMF), World Trade Organization (WTO), World Bank, and many more.
U.S. - Global Perspectives
United States Government
LCSH: federal government united states
LCSH: united states politics and government
Our American Government (2003)
Print: DOCS US Y 1.1/7:108-94
This is an introductory guide to American government in Q/A format on the Constitution and Bill of Rights, Congress, the presidency, the courts, the electoral college, and more.
U.S. Government [InfoUSA] [U.S. Dept. of State]
Print: How Your Government Really Works: A Topical Encyclopedia of the Federal Government (2008)
Print: Contemporary American Federalism: The Growth of National Power (2008)
Sources of U.S. Government Information - Library of Congress compilation of links
United States — History
An Outline of American History (2005) - PDF-180 pages [U.S. Dept. of State]
Encyclopedia of American History (2003)
REFERENCE E174 .E53 2003 Vol. 1-11
Oxford Companion to United States History (2001)
REFERENCE E174 .O94 2001
American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History (1998)
6th Floor South E174 .A535 1998
American Decades Primary Sources (Gale) (2004)
REFERENCE E169.1 .A471977 2004
American Decades (Gale)
REFERENCE E169.12 .A419 1994 - 10 volumes
New York Public Library American History Desk Reference
REFERENCE E174.5 .N47 2003
Americas Library [Library of Congress]
Annals of America (1968)
REFERENCE E173 .A79 V.1-20
v. 1. 1493-1754: Discovering a new world.
v. 2. 1755-1783: Resistance and revolution.
v. 3. 1784-1796: Organizing the new Nation.
v. 4. 1797-1820: Domestic expansion and foreign entanglements.
v. 5. 1821-1832: Steps toward equalitarianism.
v. 6. 1833-1840: The challenge of a continent.
v. 7 1841-1849: Manifest destiny.
v. 8. 1850-1857: A house dividing.
v. 9. 1858-1865: The crisis of the Union.
v. 10. 1866-1883: Reconstruction and industrialization.
v. 11. 1884-1894: Agrarianism and urbanization.
v. 12. 1895-1904: Populism, imperialism, and reform.
v. 13. 1905-1915: The progressive era.
v. 14. 1916-1928: World war and prosperity.
v. 15. 1929-1939: The great depression.
v. 16. 1940-1949: The Second World War and after.
v. 17. 1950-1960: Cold war in the nuclear age.
v. 18. 1961-1968: The burdens of world power.
v. 19-20. Great issues in American life; a conspectus.
Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends (2002)
United States -- States -- All 50 States
The Fifty States Pages
Almanac of the 50 States [annual]
CQs State Fact Finder [annual]
To find statistical sources for U.S. statistics, search opac by:
subject: united states statistics periodicals
and then sort by year.
Search Library Catalog by TITLE: Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
NOTE: This is an e-book 2004 edition. We also have a 1981 print edition.
State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends (2002) CATALOG RECORD
Population characteristics -- Households and families -- Social conditions -- Labor force and job characteristics - Housing -- Income, wealth, and poverty -- Education -- Crime and criminal justice -- Health -- Leisure, volunteerism, and religiosity -- Voting -- Environment -- Government -- Appendix: Detailed tables
California Statistical Abstract
One of the last tables has comparative economic data for the states.
1990 Census of Population and Housing: Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics: United States
DOCS DESK C 3.223/23:1990 CPH-5-1
CENSUS WEB SITE - www.census.gov
State & County Quick Facts
Select a State
Value Line Alternative Source -- LexisNexis Investext
Investext -- In LexisNexis Academic. At LN home page, click on SOURCES and type INVESTEXT in search box. In search box, type CO(STARBUCKS) and then scan results list for STARBUCKS as the company. After bringing up the text report, click on RETRIEVE FULL TEXT PDF.
Investext gives analysis of companies and industries from several sources.
Vietnam Era Veterans Employment Status - and other veterans
Employment and Earnings, January 2000, page 47
DOCS/US L 2.41/2:47/1 – page 47
Videocassettes -- generating a list of titles
OPAC word search: videorecording
To generate a list of all CDs/compact discs:
Call number search: avd*
Wealth in the UlS.
Where Did They Go? The Decline of Middle-Income Neighborhoods in Metropolitan America (2006) [Brookings Institute] This report examines the income of families and neighborhoods across the nation using decennial census data going back to 1970. Data is broken down by family income levels and neighborhoods (from very low to very high) among the 100 largest metropolitan areas in the US.
The number of very low income neighborhoods (50% or less of area median income) in the 100 most populous metro areas increased by more than 300% from 1970 to 2000.
The share of middle income neighborhoods in the 100 largest metro areas declined from 31.7% in 1970 to 22.5% in 2000.
37% of lower income families in 2000 lived in middle income neighborhoods, compared to 55% in 1970.
The share of very high income families (more than 150% of area median income) among the 100 largest metro areas increased from 23.6% in 1970 to 28.1% in 2000.
The Los Angeles - Long Beach metro area experienced a 23.6% decline in middle income neighborhoods from 1970 to 2000.
When students ask for "Witkin's" they usually are referring to:
Summary of California Law
REFERENCE KFC 80 .W5 Vols. 1-13
To find it on OPAC, search by AUTHOR: witkin
Yearbooks—CSUF Titan Yearbooks—CSUF Yearbooks
Housed in Special Collections (x3444, P LS-352):
1961-62, 1964-67, 1978-79, 1982-86, 1987-2000.
It was not published for the following years: 1968-76, 1981.
Ceased publication in 2000.