Hispanic Americans -- Encyclopedias
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
- The Borderlands: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Politics on the U.S.-Mexico Divide (2008)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (2005)
- Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies (2004)
- The Mexican American Experience: An Encyclopedia (2003)
- The Mexican American Experience: An Encyclopedia (2003)
- Reference Library of Hispanic America (2003)
- Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, And Society In The United States (2005)
- Encyclopedia Of Latino Popular Culture (2004)
- Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States (2003)
- Encyclopedia Of Minorities In American Politics (2000)
- The Mexican American experience: an encyclopedia (2003)
- Handbook of Hispanic cultures in the United States, 4 vols (1993)
- Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures (2000)
- Contemporary Hispanic biography: profiles from the international Hispanic community (2002)
- Latino Encyclopedia [6 volumes] (1996)
- Chronology of Hispanic-American history: from pre-Columbian times to the present (1995)
- Hispanic firsts: 500 years of extraordinary achievement (1997)
- Atlas of Hispanic-American history. Facts on File library of American history series [Facts on File] (2001)
Hispanic Americans -- Statistics -- Online
- Statistics: Hispanic Population of the United States [Census Bureau]
- Statistics--health insurance coverage: Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States: 2008 (2009)
- Statistics: The American Community--Hispanics: 2004 (2007)
- Statistics: Hispanic Heritage Month 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2004 | 2001 (Mexican American data)
- Statistics: Cinco de Mayo 2010
- Census News Releases: Hispanic Origin Population
- Recent reports: Pew Hispanic Center: Featured Research
- Statistics: Minority Links [Census Bureau]
- CENSUS 2000: The Hispanic Population: 2000 (2001)
- CENSUS 2000: Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin: 2000 (2001)
- CENSUS 2000: Coming from the Americas: A Profile of the Nation's Latin Amercian Foreign Born (2000)
- California: "Minorities Become Majority in State." Los Angeles Times, August 30, 2000, O.C. Edition, page A1. Includes Orange County statsitics. This article is available full text in the Los Angeles Times database.
- California: A Portrait of Race and Ethnicity in California: An Assessment of Social and Economic Well-Being (2001)
- U.S.: Changing America: Indicators of Social and Economic Well-Being by Race and Hispanic Origin (1998)
Hispanic Americans -- Statistics -- Print
- Encyclopedia Latina (2005)
- Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States
- Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States (2000)
- Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin: 2000 (2001)
- Racial and Ethnic Diversity : Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites (2002)
- Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook [biennial]
- 1990 CENSUS main report on Hispanic Americans: Persons of Hispanic Origin in the United States (1990) | Internet PDF-350 pages
Hispanic Americans -- Census Reports
- Hispanic Population of the United States
- Hispanic Americans: Census News Releases
- Race and Hispanic Origin of the Foreign-Born Population in the United States: 2007 (2010) NEW!
- The American Community--Hispanics: 2004 (2007)
- Census 2000 Brief: The Hispanic Population (2001)
- Census 2000 Brief: Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin (2001)
- Census 2000 Brief: Coming from the Americas" A Provile of the Nation's Latin American Foreign Born (2000) - includes data on Mexican Americans
- Demographic Profiles: Census 2000 -- Hispanic population for every city, county, and state
Hispanic Americans -- Books
To find books, search the Library Catalog using the following as examples:
- Subject: hispanic americans
- Subject: hispanic americans ethnic identity
- Subject: hispanic americans race identity
- Subject: mexican americans
Hispanic Americans -- Articles
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Selective list of articles (latest at top):
For help finding the full text of these articles, ask at the Reference Desk.
For help finding the full text of these articles, ask at the Reference Desk.
- "Latinos Now Top Minority; Census Bureau estimates group's U.S. population at 38.8 million, ahead of blacks for the first time. Demographers see even more growth ahead," Los Angeles Times, June 19, 2003, page A-1.
- "Neighborhood Environment, Racial Position, and Risk of Police-reported Domestic Violence," Public Health Reports, Jan-Feb 2003 v118 i1 p44(15). This journal is available full text in LexisNexis Academic.
- "LAPD Offers 1st Data on Traffic Stops; Study finds blacks and Latinos were more likely to be searched when pulled over by police." Los Angeles Times, January 7, 2003, Part 1 Page 1.
- "Unintended Effect of War on Drugs Found in Study; Crime: Of inmates in survey, more than half were nonviolent with no serious narcotics record. Also, minorities made up a large percentage." Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, Sep 20, 2002, page A-24.
- "Latinos Finding New Home in Suburbs, Study Shows [Census 2000 report]." Los Angeles Times, July 31, 2002, Home Edition, Part 2; Page 1.
- "Latino Youth Offenders Face Harsher Treatment, Study Finds; Justice: A mix of factors are found to contribute to a higher incarceration rate. Community organizations search for solutions." Los Angeles Times, July 19, 2002, Part 2; Page 7.
- "The Role of Foreign-Born Workers in the U.S. Economy," Monthly Labor Review, May 2002.
- "Census Illustrates Diversity From Sea to Shining Sea ; Population: Massive Surge of Immigration in '90s Makes Nearly One in Every Three U.S. Residents a Minority, Report says. Trend is Nationwide." March 13, 2001, Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, page A16.
Hispanic Americans -- California and Orange County
A selective list of notable publications on Hispanic Americans in California.
- Latino Likely Voters in California (2009)
- Immigrants in California (2008)
- California's Future Population (2008)
- Latino Scorecard 2006: Road to Action | Summary [Los Angeles]
Status of Latinos in LA on 5 criteria of wellbeing: health (insurance coverage, tobacco use, obesity, physical inactivity, medical school enrollment), education (college preparation, academic performance, preschool), economic development (income, poverty, employment, occupations, business ownership), housing (accessibility, affordability, availability, quality, homeownership), public safety (crime, representation in law enforcement) and more. The report also includes policy recommendations for each of the criteria. - Demographic Profile of Hispanics in California, 2008 [Pew Hispanic Center]
- California's Growing Latino Population: Census 2000 Dismantles Stereotypes (2003) [UCLA]
- Census 2000 Race and Latino Origin in California: Assembly, Senate, and Congressional Districts -- Report | Assembly | Senate | Congressional (February 2003)
Census 2000 information about the racial and ethnic composition of California Senate, Assembly and Congressional districts. Reports the number of people falling into different racial and ethnic categories in each district, the percentage of people in each category, and includes tables ranking the districts by their racial and ethnic characteristics. Excel data files are available for downloading. - Wage Gaps Between Racial and Ethnic Groups ae Not Diminishing (2003) [PPIC]
- A State of Diversity: Demographic Trends in California's Regions (2002) [PPIC]
- A Portrait of Race and Ethnicity in California (2001) [PPIC]
- The Demography of California Immigrants (2001) [PPIC]
- "Minorities Become Majority in State," Los Angeles Times, August 30, 2000, O.C. Edition, Page A1 (Metro Desk). (Includes Orange County statistics.) Full text availalble in Los Angeles Times database.
- Latinos and Economic Development in California (1999) [CRB]
- "Santa Ana: Numero Uno en Espanol," Los Angeles Times, Orange County Edition, Tuesday, November 20, 2001, Section B, Page 1 ["Santa Ana has the highest concentration of Spanish-speaking residents in the nation"]. Full text availalble in Los Angeles Times database.
- Chicanos in a Changing Society : from Mexican pueblos to American barrios in Santa Barbara and southern California, 1848-1930 (1995)
- Latinos in Orange County: Profile of Selected Demographic and Health Characteristics (1993)
Hispanic Americans -- Culture
- Recent reports: Pew Hispanic Center: Identity
- Books: Mexican American Experience (series)
- The Mexcian American Experience: An Encyclopedia (2003)
- Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States (2005)
- Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture (2004)
- Contemporary Chicana and Chicano Art: Artists, Works, Culture, and Education (2002)
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America [3 volumes] (2000)
- Handbook of Hispanic cultures in the United States (4 volumes) (1993)
- Hispanic 100: A Ranking of the Latino Men and Women Who Have Most Influenced American Culture (1995)
- Hispanic Firsts: 500 Years of Extraordinary Achievement (1997)
- Hispanics-Latinos: Diverse People in a Multicultural Society: A Special Report (1996)
- Voices of multicultural America : notable speeches delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
Hispanic Americans -- Education
- Books: Library Catalog subject search: hispanic americans education
- Pew Hispanic Center: Education
- Status and Trends in the Education of Racial and Ethnic Minorities (2007)
- Racial/Ethnic Differences in the Path to a Postsecondary Credential (2003)
- From Risk to Opportunity: Fulfilling the Educational Nees of Hispanic Americans in the 21st Century (2003)
- Latinos in Higher Education: Many Enroll, Too Few Graduate (2002)
- No More Excuses: The Final Report of the Hispanic Dropout Project (2000)
Hispanic Americans -- Politics
- Books: Library Catalog subject search: hispanic americans politics and government
- Books: Library Catalog keyword search: mexican americans politics and government
- Recent reports: Pew Hispanic Center: Politics
- California: California Latino Legislative Caucus
- California: Census 2000 Race and Latino Origin in California: Assembly, Senate, and Congressional Districts -- Report | Assembly | Senate | Congressional (February 2003)
Census 2000 information about the racial and ethnic composition of California Senate, Assembly and Congressional districts. Reports the number of people falling into different racial and ethnic categories in each district, the percentage of people in each category, and includes tables ranking the districts by their racial and ethnic characteristics. Excel data files are available for downloading. - U.S.: Hispanic Americans in Congress
Research Help
The contact information should load momentarily.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.