Gun Control -- Recent Titles
- CRS Report: Gun Control Legislation (2007)
- Supreme Court decision: District of Columbia v. Heller (decided June 26, 2008)
Ruled that the U.S. Constitution protects the rights of individuals to own handguns for self-defense in their homes - Public opinion surveys: Guns [PollingReport.com]
Gun Control -- Encyclopedias
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Online: National Survey of State Laws - available in Gale Virtual Reference Library under LAW [CSUF]
- Online: West's Encyclopedia of American Law - available in Gale Virtual Reference Library under LAW [CSUF]
- Print: Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook (2006)
- Print: Injury Facts (accidents and violent deaths) [annual]
- Print: CFR: Code of Federal Regulations 27, Alcohol, Tobacco Products and Firearms
- Print: Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law (2002)
- Print: Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights (2000)
Gun Control -- Statistics
- Print: Injury Facts (accidents and violent deaths) [annual]
- CDC: Deaths: Leading Causes for 2004 (2007) | 2006 (2009) - search: firearm
- CDC: "Death rates for firearm-related injuries according to sex, race, Hispanic origin, and age, 1970-2005." SOURCE: Health, United States: 2008. Table 46 - under MORTALITY, search: firearm-related.
- Census Bureau: Statistical Abstract of the United States. In 2009 ed., see Section: Law Enforcement. Use browser's FIND command to search: gun or firearm [annual]
- MMWR: Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance--United States, 2007 - scroll down to section: Behaviors that Contribute to Violence.
- MMWR: Surveillance for Violent Deaths--National Violence Death Reporting System, 16 States, 2006 (2009)
- MMWR: Surveillance for Fatal and Nonfatal Injuries--United States, 2001 (2004) - search: firearm
- ATF: State Laws and Published ordinances--Firearms, 2008
Additional Statistics Sources
Gun Control -- Books
Search the Library Catalog by these SUBJECTS:
- gun control
- gun control united states
- firearms and crime
- firearms accidents
- firearms and crime
- firearms law and legislation
- firearms licenses
- firearms owners
- firearms ownership
- firearms ownership united states history
- firearms purchasing
- firearms social aspects
- firearms united states
- self-defense (law) united states
Gun Control -- Articles
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro and Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
CQ Researcher articles of note:
- "Gun Violence," May 25, 2007
- "Gun Control Debate," Nov 11, 2004
- "Gun Control Standoff," Dec 19, 1997
Articles of note:
"First reports evaluating the effectiveness of strategies for preventing violence: firearms laws." MMWR, Oct 3, 2003.
"Gun Laws Effective in Deterring Criminals." Los Angeles Times, Aug 30, 2001, part A, page 16. Full text available in database Los Angeles Times.
Gun Control -- Brady Handgun Control Act
- Text of law--online: Brady Handgun Control Act (Public Law 103-159)
- Text of law--print: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act is in U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News - REFERENCE KF63 .75X 1993 Vol.2--P.L. 103-159
- Legislative history--online: Brady Handgun Violence Protection Act (Public Law 103-159): Legislative History
- Legislative history--print: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act is in U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News - see Reference KF63 .U5X 1993 VOLUME 3, page 1984
- Dissenting views: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Report Together with Dissenting Views (1990)
- Dissenting views: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Report Together with Additional and Dissenting Views (1991)
- Dissenting views: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Report Together with Additional and Dissenting Views (1993)
- Conference report: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Conference Report (1993)
- GAO report: Gun Control: Implementation of the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Report (1996)
Gun Control -- California
- California Firearms Laws: 2005 [CAAG]
- Attorney General Position on the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution (2009)
- California Penal Code - use your browser's FIND command to search: firearms and scroll to Section 12000
- National Survey of State Laws - available in Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Reducing Gun Violence: Operation Ceasefire in Los Angeles (2005)
- Concealable Firearms Charges in California (2004) | Print edition
- 2001-2002 report of Committee hearings [Committee on Gun Violence] (2003)
- Reducing Gun Violence: Results from an Intervention in East Los Angeles (2003)
- Concealed Handgun Laws and Public Safety (1997) [CRB]
- The right to defend your life, your family and your property (1996)
Gun Control -- Pro and Con
- Opposing Viewpoint [CSUF]
- CQ Researcher [CUSF]
Research Help
The contact information should load momentarily.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.