Education: A Pollak Library Research Guide
Cal State Fullerton

Home
Library Home Page Library Catalog

 

19th Century Education: Books and Journals in Pollak Library

<Books—Online
<Books—Print 
<Books—Microform

<Government Documents—Print & Online

<Journals—Online
<Journals—Print
<Journals—Microfilm

horizontal rule

Books--Online     top

The Nineteenth Century in Print: Books: Education [Digital Collection]  [American Memory]
Full-text PDF files of books on education from the 1800's. From the Library of Congress.

Nineteenth Century Schoolbooks
From home page: "The Nietz Old Textbook Collection is one of several well-known collections of 19th Century schoolbooks in the United States. Among the 16,000 volumes are many titles that are rarely held and have not yet been reproduced in microform collections or reprint editions. The collection is used by Pitt faculty and students as well as visiting scholars from other colleges and universities."

Sunday School Books  [Digital Collection] [American Memory]
"
This collection presents 163 Sunday school books published in America between 1815 and 1865, drawn from the collections of Michigan State University Libraries and the Clarke Historical Library at Central Michigan University Libraries. They document the culture of religious instruction of youth in America during the Antebellum era. They also illustrate a number of thematic divisions that preoccupied nineteenth-century America, including sacred and secular, natural and divine, civilized and savage, rural and industrial, adult and child. Among the topics featured are history, holidays, slavery, African Americans, Native Americans, travel and missionary accounts, death and dying, poverty, temperance, immigrants, and advice." -Home Page.  From the Library of Congress.

Books--Print       top

The American college in American life
5th FL SOUTH LA226 .T57a
CATALOG RECORD
New York, London, G. P. Putnam's sons, 1897.
SUBJECT Universities and colleges -- United States.
SUBJECT Education, Higher.

An autobiography. My schools and schoolmasters; or, The story of my education
5th FL SOUTH LA651.7 .M6
CATALOG RECORD
Boston, Gould and Lincoln, 1854

The Bible in the public schools. Arguments in the case of John D. Minor et al. versus the Board of education of the city of Cincinnati et al. Superior court of Cincinnati. With the opinions and decision of the court.
5th FL SOUTH LC113.C5 M6
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT Cincinnati, R. Clarke & co., 1870.
SUBJECT Religion in the public schools

The care and culture of men: a series of addresses on the higher education
5th FL SOUTH LB2321 .J84c
CATALOG RECORD
San Francisco: Whitaker & Ray Co., 1896.
SUBJECT Education, Higher.

The college of life; or, Practical self-educator; a manual of self-improvement for the colored race ... giving examples and achievements of successful men and women of the race ... including Afro-American progress ...
6th FL SOUTH AG105 .N84
CATALOG RECORD
Topeka, Kan., Topeka Book Co. [1896]
SUBJECT Blacks -- Education.
SUBJECT African Americans -- Biography

The college, the market, and the court; or, Woman's relation to education, labor and law
5th FL SOUTH HQ1423 .D22 1972
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT: New York, Arno Press, 1972 [c1867]
SUBJECT Women -- Education.
SUBJECT Women -- Legal status, laws, etc.
SUBJECT Women -- Employment.

Colonial education: the common school system  

5th FL SOUTH LA215 .T89 CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT 1897.
SUBJECT Education -- United States -- Colonies.
SUBJECT Education, Elementary -- United States

Education of man
5th FL SOUTH LB1153 .H14
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT New York, Appleton, 1888.
SUBJECT Education.
SUBJECT Kindergarten

Essays on educational reformers
5th FL SOUTH LA91 .Q5
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT New York : D. Appleton, 1899, c1890.
SUBJECT Education -- History.
SUBJECT Educators.

A history of education 

5th FL SOUTH LA13 .P2 CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT New York, D. Appleton and company, 1886.
SUBJECT Education -- History

The improvement of the mind. To which is added, a discourse on the education of children and youth
5th FL SOUTH LC30 .W4
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT Manchester [Eng.] S. Johnson, 1845.
SUBJECT Logic.
SUBJECT Education

The moral instruction of children
5th FL SOUTH LC268 .A23
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT New York, D. Appleton and Company, 1892.
SUBJECT Moral education.

New forms of Christian education, an address to the University hall guild
6th FL SOUTH BV1471 .W27
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT New York, Crowell [c1898]

Physical culture of the Emerson College of oratory    
6th FL SOUTH GV461 .E53 CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT Boston, Emerson College of oratory. [c1891]
SUBJECT Physical education and training

A portraiture of Quakerism; as taken from a view of the moral education, discipline, peculiar customs, religious principles, political and civil oeconomy and character of the Society of Friends
6th FL SOUTH BX7731 .C6 v. 1
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT London, 1806.
SUBJECT Society of Friends

Proceedings of the International Congress of Education of the World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago, July 25-28, 1893 
5th FL SOUTH L13 .N4a
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT New York [Press of J.J. Little] 1895.
Education -- Congresses

Rational education for girls  
5th FL SOUTH LC1481 .M8 CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT New York, T. Y. Crowell [c1899]
SUBJECT Women college students.
SUBJECT Women -- Education

Tools for teachers: a collection of anecdotes, illustrations, legends, etc., for teachers of Sunday schools, Bible classes, and the Boys' brigade
5th FL SOUTH PN6261 .M81
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT New York : T. Whittaker, [1895?]
SUBJECT Christian education -- Anecdotes, facetiae, satire, etc.
SUBJECT Homiletical illustrations.

The United States of America; a study of the American commonwealth, its natural resources, people, industries, manufactures, commerce, and its work in literature, science, education, and self-government
6th FL SOUTH E178 .S52 v. 1
CATALOG RECORD
6th FL SOUTH E178 .S52 v. 2
IMPRINT New York, D. Appleton and company, 1894.
SUBJECT Industries -- United States

Books--Microform      top

Bacon's descriptive handbook of America: comprising history, geography, agriculture, manufactures, commerce, railways, mining, finance, government, politics, education, religion characteristics, public lands, laws, etc.
Microfiche Fiche 200 071
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT: London ; New York : G. W. Bacon, 1866.
SUBJECT United States -- Description and travel.

Biographical sketch of Ezekiel Cheever: with notes on the free schools and early school-books of New England
Microfiche Fiche 200 227
CATALOG RECORD
Hartford, Conn. : for sale by F. C. Brownell, [1856?]
SUBJECT Education -- New England.
"Reprinted with additions from the American journal of education for March, 1856."

Government Documents--Print & Online  top

Report of the Commissioner of Education made to the Secretary of the Interior for the year ... with accompanying papers
3rd Floor North DOCS/US I 16.1:1871 to 1915
CATALOG RECORD
Annual reports with detailed essays on education in the United States.

History of higher education in Massachusetts
3rd Floor North DOC/US I 16.15:13
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT Washington, D.C. : Govt. print. off., 1891.
SUBJECT Harvard University.
SUBJECT Education -- Massachusetts -- History.
SUBJECT Universities and colleges -- Massachusetts

History of higher education in South Carolina: with a sketch of the free school system
3rd Floor North DOC/US I 16.15:4
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT Washington, D.C.: Govt. Print. Off., 1889.
SUBJECT Education -- South Carolina -- History

Public Libraries in the United States of America: Their History, Condition, and Management: Special Report [reprint of 1876 edition]
3rd Floor North DOC/US I 16.2:L 61/1 PT.1-2 CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT:
Champaign, Ill. : University of Illinois, Graduate School of Library Science
SUBJECT Libraries -- United States -- History

Annual Report of the American Historical Association, 1896 (1897)
3rd Floor North DOCS/US SI 4.1: 1896/v.1, pages 243-264
"The Teaching of History," by Herbert B. Adams, pages 243-264.

Emerton, Ephraim. "The Requirements for the Historical Doctorate in America," American Historical Association Annual Report 1893.

John Jay, The Demand for Education in American History.
(Published in Papers of the American Historical Association, vol. V, no 1. (1890), pp. 15-36).

Journals--Online  top

JSTOR
Search Title: education and select Disciplines or Journals: History, Philosophy, Sociology, or Political Science. Limit by date: 1800-1900. (NOTE: At this time, there don’t seem to be any journals in the "Education" category that go back to the 1800’s so select History, Philosophy, Sociology, or Political.)

American Memory: The Nineteenth Century in Print [Library of Congress]
Keyword search: education
Finds articles in 23 magazines from the 1800's.

 Journals--Print    top

Education: intellectual, moral, and physical (1896)
5th FL SOUTH LB675 .S7e
CATALOG RECORD
SUBJECT Education
"Originally appeared as four review articles: the first in the Westminster Review, the second in the North British Review, and the remaining two in the British Quarterly Review."
NOTE I. What Knowledge is of most worth?--II. Intellectual education.--III. Moral education.--IV. Physical education.

Kindergarten and child-culture papers. Papers on Froebel's kindergarten with suggestions on principles and methods of child culture in different countries
5th FL SOUTH LB1143 .B22
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT Hartford, American journal of education, 1890.
SUBJECT Kindergarten.
ALT TITLE The American journal of education.
NOTE Republished from the American Journal of Education.

Journal of proceedings, and addresses (1888-1895)
5th FL SOUTH L13 .N4 v. 32
CATALOG RECORD
5th FL SOUTH L13 .N4 v. 33
5th FL SOUTH L13 .N4 v. 34

IMPRINT Topeka : The Association, 1888-1895.
FREQUENCY Annual.
SUBJECT National Educational Association (U.S.) -- Congresses.
SUBJECT Education -- United States -- Congresses.

The Pacific monthly: a magazine of education and progress
Compact Stacks AP2 .P15
CATALOG RECORD
IN COMPACT STACKS 20(1908)-26(1911)
IMPRINT Portland, Or. : Pacific Monthly Pub. Co., 1898-
SUBJECT West (U.S.) -- Periodicals.

Journals--Microform     top

A visit to some American schools and colleges
Microfiche Fiche 602 862
CATALOG RECORD
IMPRINT London, Macmillan and co., 1867.
SUBJECT Education -- United States.

The Academician [microform.] 1818-1820
Microfilm Z6951 .A48 Reel 47
CATALOG RECORD
The Academician was an educational magazine with varied contents including comment on such educators as Pestalozzi, Fellenberg, Lancaster, and Bell, reports of educational conditions in various parts of the U.S., reviews of textbooks, an abstract of the Outlines of Philosophical Education, by Prof. George Jardine of Glasgow University, and advice on teaching methods. Also departments of philology, geography, and arithmetic, along with biographical sketches and some poetry and criticism.

American annals of education and instruction, and journal of literary institutions [microform.] 1832
MICROFILM Z6951 .A48 reel 293-294
CATALOG RECORD
Though not the first of the educational periodicals in America, "Russell's Journal of Education” was the first important American magazine in the field of education. Emphasized physical and moral training, and advocated education for women. Chiefly devoted to early or elementary education.

The American journal of education [microform.] 1856-1882
MICROFILM L11 .A69
CATALOG RECORD
American journal of Education became the leader of the numerous educational journals appearing prior to the War. The history of education in the United States was covered extensively, including biographies. A running account of the progress of education (college, normal, and criminal), architectural design, translations from foreign educational journals, physical education, the education of women, and proceedings of educational societies were all included in the scope of this journal.

      top                       


 

Current Webmaster: S. Rosenblatt. Please send notice of broken links, comments, and questions to srosenblatt@fullerton.edu.
Original Guide
by Carol Bednar. Revised January 2007 M.A. Lynn, June 2009 S. Rosenblatt
An administrative page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999-2010, California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: June 2009.