Chicana and Chicano Studies (CHIC)
Full text not available in the Database you are using?
Need help finding the full text or print/physical version of a resource? Use the links below to find out what to do.

What should you do if the database you have used does not have the full text of the resource that you need. The following links contain suggestions on what to do. If you are still having problems come see us at the reference desk, contact me (at any of the contact links to the right), or use any of our "Ask a Librarian" services (see third link under Quicklinks on the left-hand side of the Pollak Library homepage.)

How do I use "FIND IT@Pollak Library" (SFX)
This page tells you how to use FIND IT @ the Pollak Library (SFX) to link to the full text or find out if we own the item in print.

After you locate an article record that has no full text or pdf link or a book, book chapter or other resource record, click on the FIND IT  SFX Button with FIND IT text  or  SFX link SFX Icon only to get the SFX menu.

The menu will provide you with different options depending on whether the item you are looking for is available in print in Pollak Library, in another of our databases or not.

Examples:

SFX links to full-text

Click on the underlined link to go to the full text of the article located in a different database.

SFX points you to the paper version of the magazine or journal

You are provided with the call number and the date ranges so you can find the journal on the 2nd floor of Library North.

SFX offers to send you to the Pollak Library catalog

Clicking on the link will take you to the catalog record -- if we own the item

SFX allows you to order items we do not own. (See ILLIAD instructions.)

 

FindIt (SFX) options

Besides navigating to full-text (if possible) or linking to ILLiad in order to interlibrary loan the item, the SFX menu presents more options:

  • Is this peer reviewed? Connects to the Ulrich's Web database, which shows information about the journal, including whether or not the journal is refereed (therefore "peer reviewed"), links to the journal home page, displays available RSS feeds, links to Journal Citation Reports to show the impact of the journal within the discipline, etc.
  • Create a link to this item: creates a persistent URL and citation to embed in a web page or Blackboard course
  • Export to RefWorks: will export the citation into RefWorks (requires free registration and individual login), and also allows linking via SFX back to the full-text, if available
  • Ask a Librarian for Help: Links to the 24/7 Live Help service, which connects to live professional help (our CSUF librarians contribute hours also)
  • Export an SFX problem: sends an e-mail to library staff who will troubleshoot issues such as proxy problems, subscription problems, etc.  Best way to report a problem as the URL will also be sent allowing staff to see exactly what information was sent to the service.
  • Search Google Scholar: Often you may find the article or a preprint or related article freely available on the web
ILLiad (Request resources we do not own)
InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service for all CSUF students, faculty and staff, that allows you to order resources that we do not own or to which we do not have access

ILLiad is a free interlibrary loan service available to current Cal State Fullerton students, faculty, and staff.  Before requesting an books, articles and other items through ILLiad, it is important to know that the Pollak Library pays a cost of approximately $22.00 to $30.00 to process each request.  We, therefore, encourage responsible use of the ILLiad interlibrary loan system.

If the book you want has been checked out, you must use the recall button in the Pollak Library Catalog, as we do not interlibrary loan books that we own.  You also may try finding a similar item by searching the related Library of Congress subject headings for your particular title or by using the "More Like This" feature available through the Pollak Library catalog.  (Please note that interlibrary loan requests for books the library owns will not be processed. You may order items that have been officially declared missing or lost.)

As you conduct your research for journal articles, try to locate similar items if the full text of your particular article is not available in print or online.

If after taking the above steps you determine that interlibrary loan is the only way to obtain the specific resources you need, we welcome you to submit your request through ILLiad.

Please feel free to sign up for your ILLiad account by going the the Pollak Library homepage and clicking on the "Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)" link, whcih is also available below.

 

Related Links:

ILLiad account access (to set up your account and monitor pending requests)

ILLiad for books and articles (further service details and policies)

 

 

How do I use ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)?
This page describes how to order and renew materials borrowed through ILLiad (interlibrary loan) from other institutions. This service is available to current students, faculty and staff of CSUF.
  • To establish an ILL account (for first time users)
  1. Go to “Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)” on the library homepage (located under “Quick Links”)
  2. Fill out the electronic form to create your user account

 

  • To request a specific book, article, or other item not available in our library:
  1. Click on the Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) link under Quick Links on the library homepage.  You will be prompted to login using the campus portal.  (If you are a first time user, please fill out the form that displays after you login.)
  2. Depending on the item you wish to order, fill out a New Request using the Article, Book, Thesis/Dissertation, or Other form and click on the SUBMIT REQUEST button.
  3. You will receive an email telling you how to retrieve the item when it has arrived.  You can track the progress of your request at any time by logging into your ILLiad account.

 

  • To request an item while searching a discovery tool like the catalog or a database:

  FIND BOOKS: 

  1. Click on Find Books on the library homepage, and then select Find Books beta.
  2. Do a search. If you don't find what you need, click on the Other Cal State campuses tab to rerun the search in all California State University libraries. If you still don't find what you need, then click on Libraries worldwide to extend your search to all 50,000 libraries in WorldCat.
  3. When you find an item you wish to order, click on "We'll get this for you in 3-5 (or 5-10) days."
  4. Sign in through your ILLiad portal, and click on Continue on to ILLiad and then Request this Item.  You should have a screen with a request form automatically filled out with the necessary information about the item you want to request.
  5. Verify the information on the auto-fill request form.
  6. Click on the SUBMIT REQUEST button.
  7. You will receive an email telling you how to retrieve the item when it has arrived.  You can track the progress of your request at any time by logging into your ILLiad account. 

 

  POLLAK LIBRARY CATALOG:

  1. If the item is not available at the Pollak Library, click on “Request An Interlibrary Loan”
  2. From this WorldCat record, click the link “Request Item through Interlibrary Loan” located in the middle of the screen next to “Services from CALIFORNIA STATE UNIV, FULLERTON for this item:”
  3. Sign in through your ILLiad portal, and click on Continue on to ILLiad and then Request this Item.  You should have a screen with a request form automatically filled out with the necessary information about the item you want to request.
  4. Verify the information on the auto-fill request form
  5. Click on the SUBMIT REQUEST button.
  6. You will receive an email telling you how to retrieve the item when it has arrived.  You can track the progress of your request at any time by logging into your ILLiad account.

  ARTICLE DATABASES (EBSCO, etc.) or WorldCat:

  1. Click on Find It at the Pollak Library button associated with the book or article you wish to order.
  2. If the library does not have the item, click on the link “We’ll get this for you” found in the Find It  box
  3. Log in through your ILLiad portal, click on the Continue to ILLiad and Request This Item. You should have a screen with a request form automatically filled out with the necessary information about the item you want to request.
  4. Verify the information on the auto-fill request form and click on the SUBMIT REQUEST button.
  5. You will receive an email telling you how to retrieve the item when it has arrived.  You can track the progress of your request at any time by logging into your ILLiad account.

 

  • To track my requests and to pick up books and articles requested via ILLiad
    • Watch your email inbox for notification that your requested materials have arrived

(The ILL requests will 5-10 days, and sometimes more, to arrive.)

  1. Log onto your ILLiad account using the link on the library homepage
  2. Click on “Requests in Process” to check the status of your requests
  3. To retrieve an article sent electronically, click on “Electronically Delivered Articles” and “View”
  4. To retrieve books and other materials go to the circulation desk (1st Floor South) to pick up your item(s)

 

  • To renew my ILLiad materials

1.    Log onto your ILLiad account using the link on the library homepage
2.    Click on Received/Checked Out Loans – Renewals link
3.    Click on the transaction number of the item you wish to renew, and then click on the Renew Request.
       Requests for renewals must be requested before the due date. 

  • To get answers to my questions about ILLiad requests 
    • Email libraryill@fullerton.edu
    • Contact the ILL office Mon-Thurs 9-6 or Fri 9-4
    • Phone 657-278-2637
    • Check at circulation or reference desks for help
Barbara Miller, CRC Librarian
The contact information should load momentarily.

If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.

launch contact info

Pollak Library California State University Fullerton
800 N State College Blvd | Fullerton, CA 92834-4150
PH: 657.278.2633 | FX: 657.278.2439