Chicana and Chicano Studies (CHIC)
Find Resources for Chicana and Chicano Studies
Where to find resources for your Chicana and Chicano Studies research assignments. Document types include encyclopedias, books, book articles, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, and websites.

Library databases --  including our Library Catalog --  contain information about and, in many cases, full text for periodical articles, newspaper articles, books, book articles, dissertations and thesis, and other materials.

If you are expecting to see a cool search "widget" here that allows you to search a whole bunch of databases at once, I am afraid that won't really work for Chicana and Chicano Studies topics.

Why? Because ...

THE MOST USEFUL DATABASES WILL DEPEND ON YOUR TOPIC.

For example, if your topic is about Chicano Art you should consider taking a look at the listings of Art databases, Chicano Music, try the Music databases, Chicano literature then it would be the literature databases, social issues in the Chicano community will need our sociology databases, the history of Chicanos, then history databases, education, politics, etc.

If you do not find resources covering your topic in this guide, you should consider checking out the Databases by Subject area under Find Databases for additional resources.

There are also many useful web sites that can contribute valuable information for your research. Government and non-government organizations often gather statistical data, conduct research studies, and collect information from other sources on thousands of topics of interest to researchers. It is important to know where you are and to consider who and why a web site was created.

Please explore the links below that can give you more information about possible resources for Chicana and Chicano Studies topics.

Get background information on your topic
An encyclopedia or reference book article can often get you up to speed on topics you are exploring for the first time. Online encyclopedias often contain additional content such as images, videos, links to websites, etc.
Explore your topic before you get bogged down in the details. Encyclopedia and reference book articles can bring you up-to-speed on your topic, provide definitions, background information, timelines, dates, basic statistics and even theoretical explanations about how we know what we know about a topic.Find additional print reference books on your topic by searching the library's catalog.
Multidisciplinary Databases for Chicana And Chicano Studies
These databases cover a multitude of subjects and material types including journal, magazine and newspaper articles, books, e-books, book chapters, video, audio, dissertations, government documents, etc.
These databases cover a multitude of subjects and material types including journal, magazine and newspaper articles, books, e-books, book chapters, video, audio, dissertations, government documents, etc. Some contain full text. In others you will need to click on the "Find it" button to see if we own it or have access to it.
Discipline-specific Databases for Chicana and Chicano Studies
Your topic will dictate which of these discipline-specific databases would be good to use to find books, articles and book chapters on your topic.
Select databases that are in the subject area of your topic. If the full text is not available in the database you are using, use the "Find it" button to see if it we own a print copy or have access to the full text in another database.
Books and E-book Databases for Chicana and Chicano Studies
Access to books and e-books
Access books and ebooks. For items we do not own try InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD).
Newspaper Databases for Chicana and Chicano Studies
Explore Chicanas and Chicanos in the News of the day. Be careful -- often more is said with what is left out than what is covered.
Newspaper articles reflect the news of the day. Rarely are articles in depth and often contain inaccuracies, but they give a picture of what is thought to be important by media elites. Be careful, how you search will dictate the articles you find. In historical newspapers, the terms used may not be ones you are used to seeing. Also what is missing may be more important than what you find. Intrigued? Contact Barbara Miller, the CRC Librarian for more information.
Barbara Miller, CRC Librarian
The contact information should load momentarily.

If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.

launch contact info

Pollak Library California State University Fullerton
800 N State College Blvd | Fullerton, CA 92834-4150
PH: 657.278.2633 | FX: 657.278.2439