Career Exploration: A General Guide
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Need to find comprehensive descriptions of careers including salaries, employment and advancement prospects, education and training, experience and skills needed? Try this database! Also provides tips on interviewing and information on creating effective résumés and cover letters, internships, grants and scholarships, as well as resources by industry. CSUF Career Center provides access to this database.

A short video has been created by Suellen Cox of the Pollak Library to help you navigate your way through Ferguson's Career Guidance Center. To access this video, please click HERE.

OR

to proceed directly to Ferguson's Careeer Guidance Center, please click HERE.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Bureau of Labor Statistics at the U.S. Department of Labor publishes the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), which offers detailed information on many careers, such as:

  • required training and education
  • income potential
  • career outlook
  • type of work involved
  • work environment


The access the Occupational Outlook Handbook, please click HERE.

Pollak Library Catalog

The Pollak Library Catalog will connect you with print, physical, and online resources, such as e-books, owned by the library.  These materials can aid in your career exploration.

A short video has been created by Stephanie Rosenblatt of the Pollak Library that will help you get started with the Pollak Library Catalog.  To view the video, please click HERE.

OR

Go straight to the Pollak Library Catalog HERE.

  • Try a search using the phrase vocational guidance AND the area of study for the career.
For Future Nurses and Teachers

Below you will find helpful links to career-specific resources.


Professional Nursing Organizations

The links in this section are taken from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.  Please take the time to explore other information on the Web page.


Professional Teacher Organizations

The organizations on this list are useful resources for students who wish to pursue a career as teachers in grades PK through 12th.  They are taken from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Other Career-Related Websites

The list below contains links to other websites you may consider consulting as part of your career research.


CareerOneStop
This web site is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment ant Training Administration.  It provides resources to manage one's career path as well as to seek opportunities for training and employment.  The link offered here is a special section designed for students and career advisors.


O*NET
O*NET is a good site for career exploration. Here you can look up occupations and get detailed information about it, including: average salary, education and training requirements, and a description of job duties.


CaliforniaCareers.Info

Becoming a career self-manager can be confusing and intimidating. In this section devoted to students, you will find many resources that will help you begin and continue on your journey to discovering what interests you. Come back often, as the listing of resources will be updated with new sites that benefit you, the student.


Tomorrow's Jobs

Making informed career decisions requires reliable information about opportunities in the future. Opportunities result from the relationships between the population, labor force, and the demand for goods and services.  This resource is part of the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

 

(Descriptive material above is taken from the respective career websites profiled in this section.)

Evaluating Websites
This video from the Pollak Library's YouTube Channel will give you some good tips on how to evaluate websites.

Navigating thorough information on the web can be overwhelming!  Check out this video from the Pollak Library's YouTube Channel that will give you some tips on what to look for in a reliable website.  To view the video, please click HERE.

OR

See the 6 criteria for evaluating websites HERE.

 

For further information on evaluating sources in general, see the Pollak Library's guide HERE.

 

UNIV 100 Website Evaluation Exercise

Directions:

In your designated group (the librarian will tell you which group you are in), please examine your assigned website and answer the questions that follow. Pick one person from your group to write down notes and designate a second person as reporter/presenter.

 

Sample Website 1

Sample Website 2

Sample Website 3

Sample Website 4

Sample Website 5

Sample Website 6

Sample Website 7

Sample Website 8

Sample Website 9

Sample Website 10

Sample Website 11

 

Questions:

  • Is the author an authority or expert on the subject?
  • What is the author's agenda? Are they trying to sell an idea or product?
  • Do they use evidence to support facts, claims, ideas, or opinions?
  • Is the information current?
  • Using a letter-grade (A, B, C, D, F), how would you grade the website?
Adolfo Prieto
The contact information should load momentarily.

If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.

launch contact info

Suellen Cox
The contact information should load momentarily.

If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.

launch contact info

Rob Sage, Business Librarian
The contact information should load momentarily.

If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.

launch contact info

Pollak Library California State University Fullerton
800 N State College Blvd | Fullerton, CA 92834-4150
PH: 657.278.2633 | FX: 657.278.2439