California Demographics Resources
Orange County Progress Report
Online: Orange County Progress Report
Print 1954-present: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: Cities, Orange County
Population 1950-date, race and ethnicity, age and sex, population projections, vital statistics, voter registration, housing units 1950-date, housing units by type, median home value, major employers, taxable sales, labor market by industry, employment and unemployment, consumer price index, and income and poverty status.- Orange County City Demographics
Online: Orange County City Demographics
Online--see also: Center for Demographic Research
Geographic levels: Cities, Orange County, all cities in Orange County
One-page report for each city in Orange County: historic population data (1950-2009), race and ethnicity, population by age, population projections, births, deaths, voter registration by party. - California Statistical Abstract [annual]
Online: California Statistical Abstract
Print 1996-2003: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: Cities, Orange County, all 58 California Counties, state population 1940-present
CONTENTS: Labor Force (employment, hours and earnings, Workmen's compensation), Gross State Product, Income, and Cost-of-Living (consumer price index, consumer expenditures, poverty guidelines, minimum wage), Health and Welfare (vital statistics, mentally ill and retarded, adoptions, public assistance expenditures, AFDC), Education (enrollments, expenses, daily attendance, graduates, libraries), Farms and Agricultural Commodities, Industry statistics, building permits, housing characteristics, home sale prices, highway mileage and accidents, retail trade and taxable sales, prison population, State Comparisons (population, unemployment rate, manufacturing employment, export-related manufacturing employment, gross state product, per capita income, retail trade, automobiles, prime contract awards, crop value, crime rate, per capita energy consumption, number of schools and average salary of teachers, average expenditure per pupil, median housing value and rent, homeownership rates, and ranking of top 25 countries and California's GNP). - State & County QuickFacts
Online: State & County QuickFacts
Geographic levels: USA, California, Orange County, all states, all counties, all cities. comparison data
Latest population and housing data. Comparison data for USA/California, Orange County/California, Fullerton/California. QuickFacts includes data for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 25,000 people. - California Department of Finance: Demographic Research Unit: Reports and Research Papers
Online: Reports and Research Papers
Geographic levels: California, Orange County, all counties, all cities, historic data
Population estimates, projections, census and surveys, immigration and migration data. Historical data. - Sourcebook of County Demographics [annual]
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: Orange County, all counties, MSA
Population statistics 1980-present, income 1990-present, race 1990-present, Hispanic origin 1990-97presentage distribution, households and income 1997-present, income distribution, disposable income, and spending potential indexes (financial services, the home, entertainment, and personal). County maps. - American Community Survey [Census Bureau--American FactFinder]
Online: American Community Survey
Geographic levels: U.S., states, Orange County, all counties, cities (place), school districts, Congressional districts, MSA's
For each area: latest economic, housing, and demographic data, also narrative.
PATH: At login screen, to the right of 2008: American Community Survey in center of screen, click on DATA PROFILES. Under SELECT A GEOGRAPHIC TYPE, select PLACE. Under SELECT A STATE, click on CALIFORNIA. In next box, click on a city name (FULLERTON). Click on SHOW RESULT. At next screen, 4 tables will be available at top of screen: ECONOMIC, HOUSING, DEMOGRAPHIC, NARRATIVE. - Long-Term Socio-Economic Forecasts by County[annual] [ CA Dept. of Transportation]
Online: Long-Term Socio-Economic Forecasts by County
Geographic levels: Orange County, all California counties
Excellent source for economic forecasts. Forecasts by county 2003-2020 including population, migration, registered vehicles, households, new homes permits, retail sales, personal income, real per capita income, industrial production and more. Provides a consistent set of long-term socio-economic forecasts for each county. - RAND California [CSUF]
Online: RAND California
Geographic levels: State, Orange County, all California counties, cities
Population estimates by race and age, population density, population projections, educational attainment, language spoken at home, income and poverty, immigration statistics, vital statistics, and crime rate. Educational data include public and private school enrollment, enrollment projections, test scores, class size, teacher salaries, and school district finances. - USA Counties [statistics]
Online: USA Counties
Geographic levels: Orange County, all counties
More than 5,900 data items for the U.S., the 50 states, and all of the nation’s 3,141 counties and county equivalents. Age, agriculture, ancestry, banking, building permits, business patterns, crime, earnings, education, elections, employment, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, retail trade, social programs, veterans, vital statistics, water use, and wholesale trade. It is the most comprehensive source for data on counties in the United States. - MSA Profile
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: MSA (Los Angeles-Long Beach and also Orange County)
Projections to 2030 for population by age and race (including Hispanic), income, sales, unemployment and educational attainment data. Compiled for marketers. - MPA: Market Profile Analysis: Orange County
CPA: Community Profile Analysis: Orange County
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: Orange County, zip code, census tract
Population, household, education, labor force (employment and unemployment), industry and occupation, business market factors. Data by zip code and by census tract. Census tract maps. - Places, Towns, and Townships
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: City, Town, CDP
Population (percent change, density, race, Hispanic origin, foreign born, age, sex), Households (female family householder), employment, crime, construction, government finances, retail trade (establishments, sales), service industries (establishments, receipts), and more. See page xvii for subject index. - California, Cities, Towns & Counties
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: Cities, towns, counties, Orange County
One-page profiles of counties and cities including population by sex, race, Hispanic origin, households, income and poverty, educational attainment, labor force by occupation, registered voters by party, housing units, municipal revenues and expenditures, and school district data (enrollment, pupil/teacher ratio, per pupil expenditures, CAP and SAT scores). - Cities Ranked and Rated
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: Cities and metro areas in all 50 states
Economy and jobs, cost of living, education, health and healthcare, crime, quality of life, and more. - Orange County Projections: Population, Housing and Employment Through 2035 (2007) [CDR]
Online: Orange County Projections: Population, Housing and Employment Through 2035
Geographic level: Orange County
Concise 4-page report: statistics and maps. - Orange County Community Indicators [annual]
Online: Orange County Community Indicators
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic level: Orange County
Image Survey: Orange County strengths, challenges, and trends. Senior Well-Being: baby boomers issues. Economic and Business Climate: tourism, spending, world trade, consumer confidence index, per capita income, housing demand and affordability, average commute times, jobs by industry, high-technology cluster diversity. Technology & Innovation: e-commerce, patent grants and venture capital, computers in schools, technology-related degrees. Education: health status, child care quality and affordability, prenatal care, causes of death for children under five, immunization rates, physical fitness of children, health-insurance coverage, illicit drug use, and mental health. Public Safety: child abuse, crime rate, gang-related crimes, hate crimes. Environment: coastal water quality, recreational resources, air quality, water use and supply. - Editor & Publisher Market Guide [annual]
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic level: Orange County-Santa Ana
Population, households, bus lines, passenger cars, electric and gas meters, main industries, tap water, major stores and malls, colleges and universities, newspapers, and more. Divided into four sections. Section 1 shows the population, disposable income, total retail sales, lumber/hardware sales, food sales, automobile sales and eat/drink sales. Lists are ranked by size. Section 2Section 3 provides facts and figures about United States, daily newspaper markets by state and city. provides the same information for Canada. Section 4 is collection of tables arranged by state. They list personal income, per capita and per household, and population estimates for five age groups and ethnicities. This publication does not list sales for individual products. It does provide detailed city information for market research. - State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Online: State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: State, Orange County, all California Counties, MSA, cities
Population and housing, death rates by cause, schools, crime, energy consumption, cost of living, poverty, and more. The most detailed data are for State level. Lesser detailed data are given for County and City. - MapStats
Online: MapStats
Geographic levels: California, Orange County, all states, all counties, all cities
Most data is from Census 2000 but some has been updated. Provides city/state comparisons. - Racial & Ethnic Survey [in Orange County school districts] [annual]
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic level: Orange County school districts
Detailed race/ethnicity data by school district, by school, and by city/grade level. High school graduates by school by ethnicity. Dropouts by school district by ethnicity. Ethnicities include: American Indian, Asian, Pacific Islander, Philipino, Hispanic, African American, and White. - American Housing Survey for Anaheim-Santa Ana Metropolitan Area
Online: 2002
Print: 1994
Geographic level: MSA--Anaheim-Santa Ana only
Data on apartments, single-family homes, mobile homes, vacant housing units. Also age, sex, and race of householders, income and poverty, housing and neighborhood quality, housing costs, equipment and fuels, size of units, homeowner's repairs and mortgages, rent control, rent subsidies, previous unit of recent movers, and reasons for moving. - County Health Status Profiles [annual]
Online: County Health Status Profiles
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic level: Orange County, all California counties
Health indicators including all causes of death (firearm injuries, suicide, cancer, breast cancer, drug-related deaths), AIDS, tuberculosis, births to teenage mothers, and breastfeeding. - Health Data Summaries for California Counties [annual]
Online: Health Data Summaries for California Counties
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: State, Orange County, all California Counties
Section I presents 182 health and socio-economic indicators for the state and for each county. Section II provides tables for cross-county comparisons. Indicators include population by age, sex, race/ethnicity, family income, poverty level by race, housing value, AFDC recipients, unemployment, educational attainment, births by age of mother and by race, death rates and causes, communicable diseases, AIDS cases, drug-related deaths, homicide by handguns, hospitals, physicians, and breastfeeding rate. - State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic level: California, all 50 states
For demographic and economic data on each of the fifty states in the United States, this is one of the easiest sources to use. Eight-page chapter (narrative and statistics) for each state giving information on state's economy, demographics, recent trends including income and unemployment, Population (households, age, race, ethnicity), Personal Income (median income and poverty rate), Economic Structure (employment and earnings 1989-97, major economic sectors, five leading industries and five fastest growing industries), Home Ownership rates and home sales, Agriculture (farms, acreage, income), Education (educational attainment, enrollment, expenditures, teacher salaries, higher education enrollment), Health (leading causes of death, health insurance coverage), and Government (taxes per capita, state revenues and expenditures, federal spending by type and program categories). - Vital Statistics of California
Online: Vital Statistics
Online: Related information
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: U.S., State, Orange County, all California Counties
Detailed data on births (birth rates by age of mother, live birth order, educational level of mother), leading causes of death by sex and race/ethnicity, population by race/ethnicity, age, and sex, life expectancy, and deaths by sex and age. - New Patterns of Immigrant Settlement in California (2009)
Online: PDF-40 pages
Examines the reasons for shift in growth rates and destinations in the state, discussing the widening economic opportunites in new areas that have attracted new immigrants. - Geographic Divides in Los Angeles County: Demography, Income, and Housing (2008)
Online: PDF-16 pages
Geographic level: Los Angeles County
Intro: "This research brief uses data from a special tabulation of the 2006 American Community Survey from the U.S. Census Bureau to examine 69 communities and districts in L.A. County. This brief looks at how socio-economic conditions differ across the county using several indicators such as median income, high school graduation rates, homeownership rates, renter costs, poverty and more. The 69 communities are then ranked into a composite index according to these indicators. Tables and maps are also available to download." - California Demographic Futures Projections to 2030, by Immigrant Generations, Nativity, and Time of Arrival in U.S. (2005)
Online: PDF-22 pages
Geographic level: California
Excerpt: "Unlike projections issued by the U.S. Census Bureau, California Demographic Futures projections provide information on the nativity, decade of immigrant arrival, and immigrant generation of the population in a manner similar to age structure or racial composition...This report offers a mid-decade view of California’s demographic future, including how the state’s population has changed in the last 25 years, a detailed profile of the current situation, and a new projection of changes in the coming 25 years, to 2030." - The Trajectory of Poor Neighborhoods in Southern California, 1970-2000
Online: PDF-20 pages
Geographic level: California, some county data
Analyzes the distribution of poverty over the last 30 years in Los Angeles, Orange, San Bernardino, Riverside, and Ventura counties, examining the changing demographics and also immigration factors. From UCLA's Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy.
2000 CENSUS: Major Publications
American FactFinder: Street Address Search
Online: American FactFinder/American Community Survey 2008
Geographic levels: street address, all states, all counties, all places, census tracts, block groups, blocks
Type in an address and retrieve Census data on population by sex, age, and race, and also housing data for specific geographic areas, including census tracts. Under SELECT A YEAR AND PROGRAM, select AMERICAN COMMUNITY SURVEY 2008 or CENSUS 2000.- 2000 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics: California
Online: PDF-710 pages (36 MB)
Print: DOCS/US C 3.223/23:2000 PHC-2-6
Major Census 2000 publication for California social data: Detailed data on place of birth, disability status, income, physical housing characteristics, home value, rent, and much more. - 2000 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Population and Housing Characteristics: California
Online: PDF-504 pages (15 MB)
Print: DOCS/US C 3.223/18:2000 PHC-1-6
Major Census 2000 publication for California population data: Population data (age, sex, race, families, population density) and Housing data (household size, race, occupancy characteristics, vacancy characteristics).
- Census 2000: The Region (Southern California in the Year 2000)
Online available in ProQuest Newspapers database: Los Angeles Times, Special Section, Part U, Friday, March 30, 2001
Geographic levels: Orange County, other California counties, cities
These articles can also be accessed in the subscription database ProQuest Newspapers. This 8-page special section gives Census 2000 data for Orange County, Ventura County, and L.A. County with some city data. Sections by ethnicity (whites, Latinos, Blacks, and Asians). Extensive color maps. Titles of individual articles include: "And Then There Were 33.9 Million of Us," "A Deepening Diversity But a Growing Divide," "Latinos and Asians Still Driving Transformation," "Migrants from LA. Flow to Affordable Suburbs," "Population Abandons the Older Suburbs for Isolated, Affluent Fringe," "L.A. County: Increase to 9.5 Million Marked by Rise in Diversity," "Asians: Fastest Growth of Any Ethnic Group in State," and "Ever Younger Faces Bring New Challenges for State."
1990 CENSUS: Major Publications
1990 Census of Population: General Population Characteristics: California
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Online: Section 1 (11MB)
Online: Section 2 (11 MB)
Online: Section 3 (11 MB)
Geographic levels: State, Orange County, all California counties, cities
Three-volume set with the most detailed population and housing data available. For County data, see Tables 54-60. For Cities of 10,000+, see Tables 60-67.- 1990 Census Report: Volume 2: City and Community Profiles
Print: DOCS/CCR ORCO S96 C3 1990 VOL. 2
Geographic levels: Orange County, all California counties, CDP's
This easy-to-use volume has 6 pages of data on each area based on the 1990 census data. Detailed population (Asian/Pacific Islander category is further broken down to Chinese, Filipino, Hmong, etc.) and detailed household data (race of householder by household type, persons per room, value, rent, etc.). - BEA Regional Projections to 2040 (1990)
Print: CATALOG RECORD
Geographic levels: Volume 1: U.S. & State. Volume 2: MSA. Volume 3: BEA economic areas
Projections for total population, total personal income, employment and earnings. Projections for 1995-2040. Historical data for 1973, 1979, 1983, and 1988. For LA-Anaheim-Riverside, see Volume 2 page 10. For Anaheim-Santa Ana, see Volume 2 page 28. For Los Angeles-Long Beach, see Volume 2 page 192. For Los Angeles, see Volume 3 page 181.
California Needs Assessment Guide
Research Help
The contact information should load momentarily.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.