African Americans -- Recent Titles
- African American History Month 2010 | 2009
- Encyclopedia of African American History, from 1896 to the Present (2009)
- The Black Condition (2009)
- Legacy and Legitimacy: Black Americans and the Supreme Court (2009)
- Hurricane Katrina: America's Unnatural Disaster (2009)
- The State of Black California (2008)
- Traffic stops by race: Contacts between Police and the Public, 2005 (2007)
- Traffic stops by race: Contacts between Police and the Public: Findings from the 2002 National Survey (2005)
African Americans -- Encyclopedias
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Print: Library Catalog search: KEYWORDS: african american encyclopedias
African Americans -- Statistics in Print
- Statistical Abstract of the United States - in INDEX see BLACK POPULATION
- American Incomes
- Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook (2005)
- Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites (2002)
- Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States (2000)
- Measuring 50 years of Economic Change (1997) ONLINE | CATALOG RECORD
- African American Almanac
- Historical Statistics of Black America (1995)
- Negro Population in the United States, 1790-1915
- Black Women in America (2005)
African Americans -- Statistics Online
- African American History Month 2010 | 2009
- News Releases: Race [Census Bureau]
- "Minority Population Tops 100 Million" (May 17, 2007)
- Status and Trends in the Education of Racial and Ethnic Minorities [NCES](2007)
- We the People: Blacks in the United States (2005)
- Measuring 50 years of Economic Change (1997) ONLINE | CATALOG RECORD
- Black Population in the United States [Current Population Survey Reports] -- detailed statistics [Census Bureau]
- Statistical Abstract of the United States: Population Estimates and Projections by Age, Sex, Race/Ethnicity
- Traffic stops by race: Contacts between Police and the Public, 2005 (2007)
- Traffic stops by race: Contacts between Police and the Public: Findings from the 2002 National Survey (2005)
- Black Population in the Untied States: March 2002 (2003)
- Black Population: 2000 (2001)
- Employed Civilians by Occupation, Sex, Race, and Hispanic Origin: 2008 (2010)
African Americans -- Books
To find books, search the Library Catalog using the following as examples:
- Subject: african american families
- Subject: african americans
- Subject: african american civil rights
- Subject: african americans history
- Subject: african americans on television
- Subject: african americans reparations
- Keyword: minorities united states
- Keyword: african americans discrimination
- Keyword: african american mass media
- Keyword: race relations united states
African Americans -- Articles
To find articles, search the Library's subscription databases. Click on the following links to view a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
African Americans -- California and Orange County
To find books, search the Library Catalog by the following subject:
- Keyword: african americans california
TIP: Sort by date
Titles of note:
- The State of Black California (2008)
- Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites (2002)
- Statistics: California Statistical Abstract (TIP: select PDF FORMAT: ENTIRE REPORT and then search: african)
- Statistics: Orange County Progress Report
- Statistics--U.S. and all states: Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Primary sources: African Americans in California [UC Berkeley]
- Reading Rodney King/reading urban uprising (1993)
African Americans - Brown v. Board of Education
To find books, search the Library Catalog by the following subjects:
- Subject: topeka (kan.). board of education trials
- Subject: segregation in education law and education
Titles of note:
- Brown v. Board of Education: 50th Anniversary (2004)
- Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka: A Landmakr Case Unresolved Fifty Years Later (2004)
- Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia - see p. 67: "Brown v. Board of Education"
African Americans -- 'I Have a Dream' Speech
- I Have a Dream by Martin Luther King, Jr.; August 28, 1963 - text
- I Have a Dream - video
- I Have a Dream speech in print: Martin Luther King, Jr., 1929-1968 - see p. 22
African Americans -- Primary Sources
To find primary sources, search the Library Catalog under the following subject:
Titles of note:
- Voices from the Days of Slavery [American Memory]
- Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration (2003)
Note: Volume 3 (Primary Documents) contains transcripts of 76 documents that illustrate the Black migrant experience. - Afro-American History: Primary Sources
- Equal Protection and the African American Constitution Experience: A Documentary History (2000)
African Americans -- Slavery -- Primary Sources
To find books, search the Library Catalog by the following subjects:
- Subject; Slavery -- United States -- History -- Sources
- Subject: african americans history to 1863 sources
- Subject: abolitionists united states history 19th century sources
Titles of note:
- Debating the Issues in Colonial Newspapers: Primary Documents on Events of the Period (2000)
- Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860 [American Memory]
- African American History -- includes slave narratives [American Memory]
- Born in Slavery -- slave narratives [American Memory]
- "Slavery in the Territories," Annual Report of the American Historical Association, 1891, pp. 131-160.
- "Enforcement of the Slave Trade Laws," by W.E.B. DuBois, Annual Report of the American Historical Association, 1891, pp. 161-174.
- "The First Fugitive Slave Case of Record in Ohio," Annual Report of the American Historical Association, 1893, pp. 91-100.
- "Jay's Treaty and the Slavery Interests of the United States," Annual Report of the American Historical Association, 1901, v.1, pp. 175-298.
Did this guide help you find information on your topic?
Catherine Kaye
The contact information should load momentarily.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.