Affirmative Action -- Encyclopedias
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court (2006)
- Affirmative Action: An Encyclopedia (2004)
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court (2001)
- West’s Encyclopedia of American Law (later edition is available online in Gale Virtual Reference Library) (1998)
Affirmative Action -- Statistics
Affirmative Action -- Books
To find books, search the Library Catalog by the following subjects and keywords:
- Subject: affirmative action
- Subject: affirmative action programs united states history
- Subject: affirmative action programs in education
- Keywords: bakke affirmative action
Books of note:
- Overview: Affirmative Action in Antidiscrimination Law and Policy: An Overview and Synthesis (2002)
- History: Justice for the Past (2004)
- History: A History of Affirmative Action, 1619-2000 (2001)
- History: The Pursuit of Fairness: A History of Affirmative Action (2004)
- Recent: Affirmative Action Around the World: An Empirical Study (2004)
- Pro & Con: Affirmative Action and Racial Preference: A Debate (2003)
- Public opinion: Conflicted View on Affirmative Action (2003)
- Latinos: Brown Tide Rising: Metaphors of Latinos in Contemporary American Public Discourse (2002)
Affirmative Action -- Web Sites
Affirmative Action -- Articles
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Affirmative Action -- Laws
- Laws Enforced by the EEOC [EEOC]
- Affirmative Action [LII]
- Law of Affirmative Action: Twenty-Five Years of Supreme Court Decisions on Race and Remedies (2000)
- Bakke Supreme Court Decision: Go to 'Historic Supreme Court Decisions' and then scroll down to 'Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978)'
Affirmative Action -- Primary Sources
-
Race Relations in America: A Reference Guide with Primary Documents (2006)
-
Database: Black Thought and Culture [Alexander Street Press]
Affirmative Action -- California and Proposition 209
To find books in Pollak Library, search the Library Catalog by the following subjects:
Library Catalog Subject Search: minorities education (higher) california
Library Catalog Subject Search: affirmative action programs law and legislation california
- Silence at Boalt Hall The Dismantling of Affirmative Action (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- Moving from the Margins: A Chicana Voice in Public Policy (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- Hearing: Informational hearing on "underrepresented minorities in higher education" : Friday, February 22, 2002 CATALOG RECORD
- Proposition 209: Ballot Pamphlet with Analysis
- Repeal of Proposition 209: Repeal of Proposition 209
- Bakke Supreme Court Decision: Go to Historic Supreme Court Decisions and then scroll down to Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978)
- Statistics: Data for Affirmative Action/EEO Plans [statistical data on sex and race by occupation for California state and counties]
- Affirmative Action Initiatives: California At the Epicenter (1995) CATALOG RECORD
- Bakke Case: Race, Education, and Affirmative Action (2000) CATALOG RECORD
- California Education Code: Affirmative Action Employment (Sections 44100-44105)
- California Education Code: Equal Employment Opportunity Hiring (Sections 87001-87108)
- Color Bind: California’s Battle to End Affirmative Action (1998) [Note: Also available as e-Book.] CATALOG RECORD
- Constitutionality of the Proposed California Civil Rights Initiative (1995) CATALOG RECORD
- Discrimination and Affirmative Action: Are There Any Facts Out There? (1995) CATALOG RECORD
- Segregated Schools: Separate but Equal? [California] (1995) CATALOG RECORD
- Status of Affirmative Action in California (1995) CATALOG RECORD
Affirmative Action -- Education
- Race on Trial: Law and Justice in American History (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- The Racial Crisis in American Higher Education: Continuing Challenges for the Twenty-first Century (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- Bakke Supreme Court Decision—2003: The Supreme Court Revisits Affirmative Action: Will Grutter and Gratz Mean the End of Bakke? (2003)
- Bakke Supreme Court Decision—1978: Go to Historic Supreme Court Decisions and then scroll down to Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978)
- Affirmative Action and Minority Enrollments in Medical and Law Schools (1998) CATALOG RECORD
- Affirmative Action and the University: Race, Ethnicity, and Gender in Higher Education Employment (2000) CATALOG RECORD
- Bakke Case: Race, Education, and Affirmative Action (2000) CATALOG RECORD
- Beyond Affirmative Action: Reframing the Context of Higher Education (2001) CATALOG RECORD
- Chilling Admissions: The Affirmative Action Crisis and the Search for Alternatives (1998) CATALOG RECORD
- Defending Access: A Critique of Standards in Higher Education (1999) CATALOG RECORD
- Quest for Equity in Higher Education: Toward New Paradigms in an Evolving Affirmative Action Era (2001) CATALOG RECORD
- Shape of the River: Long-Term Consequences of Considering Race in College and University Admissions (1998) CATALOG RECORD
Affirmative Action -- Employment
- Overview: Employment Discrimination: An Overview [Cornell's Legal Information Institute —LII]
- Text of Public Law 88-38: Equal Pay Act of 1963 [text of Public Law 88-38, as amended, as it appears in Volume 29 of the United States Code, at section 206(d)]
- History: American Work: Four Centuries of Black and White Labor (1998) CATALOG RECORD
- History: Equality Transformed: A Quarter-Century of Affirmative Action (1991) CATALOG RECORD
- History: "We Want Jobs": A History of Affirmative Action (1997) CATALOG RECORD
Affirmative Action -- Pro and Con
Did this guide help you find information on your topic?
Catherine Kaye
The contact information should load momentarily.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.