Latin American Studies
Welcome/Bienvenidos/Bem-vindo/Nanmoyolihcatzin/Tistik/Pasaykamuy

A Maya scribe paints a book.

This guide is intended to give you an idea of the research resources available to you at the Cal State Fullerton Pollak Library. The guide contains preset groupings of useful databases (containing information about and, in many cases, full text periodical articles, newspapers and books) to search collectively as well as links to major websites with Latin American Content.

Databases can also be searched individually by going to Find Databases on the Library homepage. The most useful databases will be dependent on your topic, so if your topic is about Latin American Art you should look at the Art databases, Latin American Music, try the Music databases, Latin American literature then it would be the literature databases, etc.

Depending on your professor's preference you may be required to use APA, MLA or Chicago citation styles for your references, works cited or bibliogarphy page as well as in text citations or footnotes/endnotes. Refworks is a great way to keep track of your research bibliographies, set up works cited and references pages, footnotes/endnotes and in-text citations.

Additional features will be added as they are created. Please let us know what you think. Just send any comments or suggestions using the email or chat icons on the right side of this page. Thank you.

Citation Styles and Plagiarism

Citing sources properly is an important part of your research.  The following list of tips may help you with your citations:

  • Confirm with your professor the style manual you are to use.
  • The complete style guides (MLA, Turabian, APA, Chicago Manual of Style) are available behind the Reference Desk, 1st floor, Pollak Library North.
  • Use the Pollak Library's "How do I Cite Sources?" page, which provides information for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
  • Check out the Purdue Online Writing Lab for more tips on citation styles and writing and paper formatting guidence.
  • Make sure you have all the information you will need from each source to create a proper citation, including data such as publication information from the front of books, journal volume/issue numbers, and page numbers for articles and book chapters.  You can use RefWorks, an online citation manager, to store your citations and create reference or work cited lists.
  • Plagiarism is a serious issue, which includes presenting the work or ideas of another individual as your own.  Keeping careful notes while researching your topic will help you to credit properly an idea or passage you came across.
RefWorks Login

Use this widget to log in to your existing account, or to set up a new account. See our RefWorks Guide for more information.

Barbara Miller, CRC Librarian
The contact information should load momentarily.

If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.

launch contact info

Pollak Library California State University Fullerton
800 N State College Blvd | Fullerton, CA 92834-4150
PH: 657.278.2633 | FX: 657.278.2439