Free Sites: (May contain links to fee-based sites.)
Family Search Internet Genealogy Service -- Site provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
American Family Immigration Center -- Part of the Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation -- Search Immigration Records and Passenger Lists of arrivals to New York & Ellis Island for 1892-1924; check out the immigration time line and family histories. See also Castle Garden, America's first immigration center for resources covering immigration to the United States from 1830 to 1892.
Census Online -- A guide to online census records.
CensusDiggins.com -- Contains Census records, Marriage records, Civil War Records, Orphan records, Vital Records, and other Genealogy databases.
Genealogy Today -- Searchable surname queries, genealogy news, articles, research tips and more.
Geneanet -- Genealogical Database Network attempts to search through all of the world's genealogical resources regardless of whether they are net-based or not, free or fee-based. Costs may be involved.
My Heritage -- Site to share family photos and create a family tree for free.
RootsWeb.com -- Claims to be the oldest & largest free genealogy site. Sponsored by Ancestry.com.
Commercial Sites: (All allow some level of limited free access, then ask for money)
Ancestry.com -- A commercial. subscription site with plenty of free stuff; see also Genealogy.org. Also includes Family Tree Maker Online. Out-of-date version of the CD-ROM now available in CRC.
Archives.com -- For profit, private group that teamed up with Genhomepage in 2009 to create a search engine for people to search for their family tree.
FamilyLink -- works on Facebook to find relatives and keep families linked together. Also provides fee for genealogy services.
Footnote.com - Site contains original or primary historical documents including the 1860 Census. Can be searched for free, but a paid subscription is needed to display most complete images.
Genealogy.com -- This commercial site provides some free access to genealogical & ethnic research help.
My Trees.com -- A Kindred Konnections website. Browse for Surnames.
New England Ancestors -- Website of the New England Historic Genealogical Society. See FAQs.
OneGreatFamily -- Claims to be the world's largest online family tree.
ProGenealogists -- Really bitten by the genealogy bug? Got money to spare? Try a professional genealogist!
World Vital Records -- Relatively new competitor to Ancestry.com by former employees.
About.com Genealogy -- Learn about how to research and preserve your family's history. CONTAINS FREE FAMILY TREE CHARTS with no fees nor strings attached.
Cyndi's List of Genealogical Sites on the Internet -- This is an extremely large, well-organized list of genealogy web sites! See Hispanic, Central & South American & West Indies page.
Helm's Genealogy Toolbox Matthew Helm's site includes not only the largest categorized list of genealogical links, it has genealogical software profiles, search engines, digitized images, how-to articles, queries, and genealogical news stories. Search using the TreEZy search engine within the Toolbox. (As of 6/6/2010, site is offline.)
Library of Congress Local History and Genealogy Reading Room -- Contains guides to genealogical research including specific ethnic groups and foreign genealogical research.
National Archives Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians -- see especially ethnic resources under highlighted resources
National Genealogical Society -- The NGS assists members tracing their family histories since 1903. Includes an online course on genealogical research.
UsGenWeb Project -- Contains Internet web sites for researching genealogy in all U.S. states and counties. Includes links to State Archives.
WorldGenWeb Project -- This is the worldwide organization which divides the world into 15 regions. Not affiliated with UsGenWeb Program.
Z Links -- List of genealogy links compiled by Barbara Renick, Professional Genealogist who works with the Orange Family History Center, 674 S. Yorba Street, Orange CA.
Read the 25 most popular blogs as listed on ProGenealogists (these are the professional genealogists at Family Search). Search for advice on doing family history.
Genealogy Guys Podcast-- claims to be the oldest, regularly produced genealogy podcast in the world
Roots-L -- An Internet genealogy mailing list, Roots-L contains a list of local genealogical web sites organized by State.
Somos Primos -- A publication dedicated to Hispanic Heritage Issues sponsored by the Society of Hispanic Historical and Ancestral Research
Familia Ancestral Research Association -- part of RootsWeb, the association is a local group working out of Westminister, CA and sponsors workshops and other events related to genealogy and family history.
Find a Family History Center near your home. These centers are part of the Church of Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The public is welcome to use the facilities.
Find Libraries, Archives, and Museums in California. (From Cyndi's list).
Find Local Public Libraries in Southern California near your home. Many have local history rooms or genealogy rooms.
OCCGS -- the Orange County California Genealogical Society maintains a genealogy collection at Huntington Beach Central library. They provide classes and monthly meetings for people interested in local genealogy.
OCMAHS, the Orange County Mexican American Historical Society. An organization dedicated to preserving the Mexican American Heritage of Orange County, California, through the collection, preservation and sharing of photographs, stories and artifacts that document the county's Mexican American communities. (As of 6/6/2010, site is offline.)
Visit the United States National Archives and Records Administration-Pacific Region -- Covers the genealogical research collections maintained by the National Archives including the Pacific Regional Center in Riverside.
Society of Hispanic Historical and Ancestral Research -- Local organization that promotes Hispanic Family History Research.
Chicana & Chicano Resource Center Collection, Pollak Library:
Vertical File (In CRC vertical file drawer CHIC 305, Pollak Library Rm 171)
- Alta California Research Strategies and Resources. Summer 1998. Edited by Alexander V. King.
- The Bancroft Collection: Latin Americana: Mexican and Central American Collections.
- Spanish and Mexican California, 1769-1848: Selected Sources in the Bancroft Library for Academic and Family History Research.
- Intermediate/Advanced Hispanic Family History Research. Sponsored by the Texas Trans-Pecos Library System, Border Heritage Center, El Paso Public Library, El Paso Genealogical Society
Books located on the CRC Reference Shelves (Pollak Library Rm 170A)
- Librarians Genealogy Desk Reference/Genealogy Outreach, A Partnership between Librarians & NEHGS. (Ask CRC Librarian.)
- Mexican-American Genealogical Research: Following the Paper Trail to Mexico John Schmal and Donna Morales Heritage Books, 2002.
- Call No. CRC E184.M5 S35 2002
- My history is America’s history, A millennium project of the National Endowment for the Humanities.Washington DC, National Endowment for the Humanities, 1999. (Ask CRC Librarian.)
- Unpuzzling your past: A basic guide to genealogy. 3rd edition. Emily Anne Croom.Cincinnati, OH: Betterway Books, 1995.
- Call No. CRC CS47.C76 1995