These scholarships and internships are great opportunities for students to fund their higher education or receive more hands-on experience in their field of study.
Please note: These scholarship listings are informational in nature and do not imply endorsement of any individual, company or program.
Good luck applicants!!!
| Student Aid and Scholarships Student Aid Portals and Databases Student Aid Portals and Databases Targeting Chicanos and Latinos Additional Student Aid Websites Individual Scholarships and Funds Targeting Chicanos and Latinos Additional Individual Scholarships of Interest to Chicanos and Latinos |
Student Aid Portals & Databases (general) |
| FAFSA http://www.fafsa.ed.gov Students &/or their parents applying for grants, scholarships & loans are required to fill out a FAFSA application. Use the “Contact Us” tab on web site to contact FARSA. |
| Cal State Fullerton Office of Financial Aid http://www.fullerton.edu/financialaid/ Contains links to scholarship sites and search engines. For more information contact: fa@fullerton.edu Includes CSU Fullerton Office of Financial Aid Scholarship Directory http://www.fullerton.edu/financialaid/scholar/scholarships_default.htm |
| SallieMae – College Answer: The Planning for College Destination http://www.collegeanswer.com/index.jsp From the leading provider of Student Loans. Must register with the site to use Scholarship Search. |
| College Board – Pay for College http://www.collegeboard.com/student/pay/index.html Has college costs and financial aid tools including a scholarship search. Provided by the company that produces the SAT test. |
| FinAid! http://www.finaid.org/ “The SmartStudent guide to financial aid!” Search for scholarships, loans, and other information about getting into and financing a college education. Company affiliated with Monster.com. |
| CollegeNet http://www.collegenet.com/mach25/app Privately-administered scholarship database. |
|
Student Aid Portals & Databases (targeting Chicanos/Latinos) return to top |
| MALDEF AB 540 http://www.maldef.org/education/public_policy/ab540/index.html Provides AB540 Reference Documents in pdf (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)including a list in English and Español of available private scholarships that was last updated in 2/2010: http://maldef.org/leadership/scholarships/2010_Scholarship_List.pdf |
| Latino College Dollars http://www.latinocollegedollars.org/ Sponsored by the Tomas Rivera Policy Institute (TRPI), at&t, Sallie Mae Fund, Walt Disney & Southern California Edison, this directory lists all the regional organizations that TRPI could identify, which award grants and scholarships targeting eligible California Latino students. Criteria vary by scholarship. Please note that scholarship links have not been updated since September 2007. It is part of the TRPI Initiative: Collegeforyou.com; for more information contact trpi@trpi.org |
| LatinoGraduate.net http://www.latinograduate.net/new/ Sponsored by Walt Disney Co. Includes scholarship information, and advice on getting accepted and finishing college. Contains links to scholarship sites and search engines. For more information contact the Latino Scholastic Achievement Corporation at: LSACNational02@hotmail.com |
| Scholarships for Hispanics http://www.scholarshipsforhispanics.org National directory of scholarships sponsored by the National Hispanic Press' NAHP Foundation (National Association of Hispanic Publications' Foundation) with funding from several corporation foundations and government & non-government agencies. Criteria varies by scholarship. |
Student Aid (that may be of interest to Chicanos/Latinos) return to top |
| Coalition to Increase Minority Degrees –Hyper Aid CIMD Financial Aid Database Access http://mati.eas.asu.edu/ “College-bound students who plan to major in science, math, and engineering fields will benefit from this database that provides information on academic programs, financial aid, internships, and fellowships available at colleges and universities across the country. For each financial aid program, the contact address, phone number, conditions, deadline, time period, ethnicity, citizenship requirements, and amounts are displayed.” |
| American Political Science Association -- Minority Scholar Resources http://www.apsanet.org/PS/grants/aspen3.cfm Listings cover … “a limited collection of public and private funding resources and opportunities for scholarships, fellowships, internships, awards, grants, dissertation assistance, etc., sponsored for minorities, women, and members of other groups. |
| Back to College http://www.back2college.com/ See Financial Aid and Internship links on website. |
| IEFA: International Education Financial Aid http://www.iefa.org/ “IEFA is the premier resource for financial aid, college scholarship and grant information for US and international students wishing to study abroad. At this site, you will find the most comprehensive college scholarship search and grant listings plus international student loan programs and other information to promote study abroad.” |
| National Service http://www.nationalservice.org/
|
| Union Plus Scholarship page http://www.unionplus.org/college-education-financing/scholarships Sponsored by the UFL-CIO. |
Individual Scholarship Programs targeting Chicanos/Latino students return to top |
| CSU Fullerton Chicano/Latino Faculty & Staff Association Scholarship http://www.fullerton.edu/clfsa/application.htm CLFSA awards scholarships to current, full-time undergraduate and graduate Cal State Fullerton students who demonstrate active involvement in and commitment to the Latino Community |
| California Chicano News Media Association Scholarships http://www.ccnma.org/ The CCNMA Scholarships, including the Joel Garcia Memorial Scholarship and the Frank del Olmo Memorial Scholarship, are awarded annually to qualified Latino students who are planning to pursue a career in journalism. To get notification for the next round of scholarships, sign up for the mailing list. For more information contact: ccnmainfo@ccnma.org |
| Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute, Inc http://www.chci.org/scholarships/ Sponsored by the Leadership, Education and Career Development Center of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus, Inc. Scholarships for Latino students demonstrating leadership qualities; no major or GPA requirements. For more information contact: --See also Internships below |
| Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU) http://www.hacu.net/hacu/Default_EN.asp See scholarship or student links on main HACU website. HACU administers a number of scholarships for students who attend Hispanic Serving Institutions (Cal State Fullerton qualifies). Criteria vary by scholarship, but students must demonstrate financial need. For more information contact: scholarship@hacu.net --See also HACU Internship Program below |
| Hispanic College Fund http://www.hispanicfund.org/ HCF administers a large number of National scholarships for Chicanos/Latinos in a number of subject areas. Criteria varies by scholarship. For more information, see the web site or contact: hcf-info@hispanicfund.org |
| Hispanic Scholarship Fund http://www.hsf.net/ HSF administers a number of scholarships for Chicanos/Latinos including the Gates Millennium Scholars. Criteria varies by scholarship. For more information, see the website or contact: scholar1@hsf.net |
| LULAC National Scholarship Fund Program (LNSF) http://lulac.org/programs/education/scholarships/ see also: http://www.lnesc.org LULAC National Scholarship Fund is administered through local LULAC Councils, in partnership with local and national businesses. They award scholarships to students in their communities. Other funds are administered through the LULAC National Education Service Center, such as GE Fund And GM Fund Scholarships. |
| MALDEF Scholarship Resources http://maldef.org/leadership/scholarships/ Includes an Undergraduate Scholarship Resource Guide and the MALDEF Law School Scholarship Program for qualified students who show financial need, academic potential and a commitment to the Latino Community. |
| National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) http://www.nahj.org/category/for-students/ The NAHJ website is now set up as a blog, so expect to see a blog posting when applications open for the next scholarship cycle. Set up an RSS, facebook or twitter feed. Information on its programs for students are listed in the above category link. NAHJ administers the NAHJ Rubén Salazar Scholarship Fund to help Latino Students pursue careers in Journalism and several other scholarships for various types of careers in media. Internships are also available. For more information contact: nahj@nahj.org |
| The Orange County Hispanic Education Endowment Fund http://www.heef.org/scholarships/index.htm HEEF administers a number of scholarships for eligible Orange County Hispanic students with financial needs; check each scholarship for eligibility requirements. For more information contact: ragarris@heef.org |
| Roybal Foundation scholarships http://roybal-allard.house.gov/Students/ The office staff of Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard of California’s 34th District has provided resources for students including a student scholarship guide (last updated in August 2009) that includes the Roybal Foundation scholarships. |
Individual Scholarship Programs or Funds of interest to Chicanos/Latino students return to top |
| Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation https://www.coca-colascholars.org/cokeWeb/ |
| Siemens Merit Scholarship http://www.siemens-foundation.org/en/merit_scholarship.htm |
| Xerox Scholarships for Minority Scholarship http://www.xeroxstudentcareers.com/why-xerox/scholarship.aspx |
The Chicana and Chicano Studies Department offers a unique opportunity for students to gain an understanding and awareness of the vital presence and increasing significance of the Chicano population in California and throughout the nation. As an interdisciplinary program, students learn about the history, culture and contemporary issues of the Chicana/o experience. The department prepares students for careers in teaching and advanced degrees in humanities, social sciences, and law.
Prerequisites for a CHIC 499 internship: Senior level and approval by the department chair and instructor in charge of directing the study.
The CRC offers several interning opportunities for Chicano Studies Majors:
CRC Interns: By mutual agreement of the Dept chair, instructor, CRC Director and the student, interns complete projects that support the mission and goals of the CRC. They may also assist students who are researching questions on Chicano/Latino topics; referring them to the CRC Librarian as needed.
CRC Tutors: assist students who are taking Chicana and Chicano Studies Courses to successfully complete their class assignments by enhancing their research and writing skills. Students needing research assistance are referred to the CRC Librarian.
Contact Sonia Velez for more information: Telephone: (657) 278-4815 Email: svelez@fullerton.edu|
Student Internships targeting Chicanos and Latinos |
|
Cal State Fullerton Center for Internships & Community Engagement http://www.fullerton.edu/CICE/ For Cal State Fullerton students program registration and directory Additional contact information: Hours: Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm, Location: Langsdorf Hall, Room 206, Phone:(657) 278-3746 Fax:(657) 278-1217 Email: cice@fullerton.edu, Mailing Address: PO Box 6846, Fullerton, CA 92834-6846.
|
|
Congressional Hispanic Causus Institute, Inc. http://www.chci.org/internships/ “The purpose of the Congressional Internship Program (CIP) is to expose young Latinos to the legislative process and to strengthen their professional and leadership skills, ultimately promoting the presence of Latinos on Capitol Hill.” --See also individual scholarships above.
|
|
Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU) Internship Program http://www.hacu.net/hacu/Apply_Online_EN.asp?SnID=1167582716 “HNIP staff works with Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSIs), federal agencies, and corporations to recruit well-qualified and motivated students. Participating agencies and corporations hope to increase diversity in their work force by providing internship opportunities to high-achieving Hispanic students. This creates a pipeline of future employees who have had positive, meaningful work experience.” See also Financial Aid targeting Chicanos/Latinos above.
|
|
INROADS Internships http://www.inroads.org/index.jsp “The Mission of INROADS is to develop and place talented minority youth in business and industry and prepare them for corporate and community leadership.” For more information contact: info@inroads.org
|
|
Internships.com “Internships.com serves as the leading nexus between internships and students, higher education and employers.” Internships.com has partnered with LULAC, for more information about the LULAC alliance, see: http://www.internships.com/partners/lulac
|
| Corporation for National and Community Service The Corporation for National and Community Service matches talented, motivated people with opportunities to serve their community and the nation. This is the umbrella organization for the AmeriCorps program that helps serving students pay for college as well as the Learn and Serve, America Reads Challenge, AmeriCorps Promise Fellows and AmeriCorps*VISTA Technology programs. |
| Council on International Educational Exchange In 1997, Council on International Educational Exchange celebrated the past half century of service to young people studying, working and traveling abroad. We now look forward to the future and the contributions that Council can bring to a global society in the next millennium. Employment and internship opportunities are listed by position and by location. |
| Internship Programs.com Contains over 2400 programs and 250,000 positions. At this web site you can research and apply online. Listings by company are for the U.S. only. International internships are searched by location - bm. |
| Peace Corps Must have a four-year college degree to volunteer. College Juniors may apply but must have obtained degree by the time their assignment begins. |
| Rising Star Internships Allows students to search for internships and post their résumés and employers to post their available internships as well as hunt for prospective interns. Also contains a small but growing list of part-time employment for students. |
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.
If it fails to load you can load this information by using the link below.