The Chicana & Chicano Resource Center (CRC) is a joint effort of Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the Pollak Library.
The Center is located in Pollak Library South 170A & 171. Please drop by for a visit, use our resources, and attend our activities. For more information, check out the CRC blog.
For more information on our mission and goals, hours, services & staff, please scroll down to the links listed below. Use the tabs above to find information about Center news, announcements, and activities, to access our CRC Collection and to explore related links including Chicano Organizations and Scholarships.
Contact the Center via:
The Center is a safe haven for AB540 and LGBTIQ students.
CRC Spring 2012 Hours*
(Monday, January 23, 2012 to Friday, May 18. 2012)
Monday -----------------------8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tuesday -----------------------8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday -----------------------8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thursday -----------------------8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday -----------------------8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday -----------------------Closed
* Hours subject to variation for Spring Break, March 24-April 1, 2012 please check posted hours.
The CRC will be closed on the following holidays:
Presidents Day, February 20, 2012
Cesar Chavez Day, March 30, 2012
- CRC Coordinator: Dr. Elizabeth Suárez, 657/278-4391, email@example.com
- CRC Librarian: Barbara Miller, MLIS, 657/278-4460, firstname.lastname@example.org
- CRC Administrative Coodinator: Maria Contreras, 657/278-4349, email@example.com
- CRC Student Assistants:
- Manuel Mancera, Senior, Chicana & Chicano Studies
- Jesus Rivera, Junior, Philosophy
- Gilberto Reyes, Graduate, History
To contact the CRC, use the contact links above or to the right. We are looking forward to hearing from you and having you visit the Center.
We serve the needs of campus programs and departments such as Chicana and Chicano Studies, Latin American Studies, History, Spanish, Sociology, Criminal Justice, Elementary and Bilingual Education, Secondary Education, etc., as well as exerting a positive influence on the academic success of Chicana/o and Latina/o students, by providing
- research assistance
- instructional support
- tutoring and mentoring, advisement, networking
- cultural and student affairs programming, lectures, and film series
- cooperation with other campus support groups and community partnerships
The CRC is equiped with eight computer workstations (5 PCs and 3 MACs) and a laser printer (10 cents per page covers cost for paper and ink cartridges.) We also have a television with dvd and vhs players. The Center maintains a small research collection on Chicana/p and Latina/o themes and topics that compliments the Univeristy Library's collection. We also have a small area for individual group study and where student organizations can arrange to meet. Space is available on a first-come-first-serve basis.
The Mission of the Chicana/o Resource Center (CRC) at California State University, Fullerton is:
To provide a learning environment for students, faculty, staff and the broader community that is inclusive and fosters the history, education, and culture of Chicanas/os or Latinos.
To serve the needs of the university community through its research collection on Chicana/o history, culture, education, and politics.
to support the advancement, recruitment, and retention of Chicana/o and Latino students through collaborative efforts with other campus programs and departments.
To support and facilitate dialogue on the Chicana/o experience among all students and across the community university.
- Serve the needs of campus programs and departments, such as Chicana/o Studies, Latin American Studies, History, Sociology, Elementary and Bilingual Education, Secondary Education, etc.
- Exert a positive influence on the academic success of Chicana/o students through the creation of a supportive instructional and research environment; extensive cooperation with other campus support programs and community partnerships.
- Establish a readily-identifiable research center to provide a host of specialized services and collections.
- Maintain active networking with other academic programs, libraries, and community-based programs.
- Serve as a catalyst, so as to establish stronger links between CSUF and the surrounding community.
- Provide a safe haven for AB540 and Latino LGBTIQ students.
- Through its services the Center advocates for all Chicana/o and Latino students
The Chicana & Chicano Resource Center (CRC), the oldest of CSUF’s ethnic centers, was established in 1972 to develop the University Library’s collection on Mexico and the Southwest. Today the CRC, which is housed in the Pollak Library, has a dual function for both Academic Affairs and Student Affairs. It provides an active learning environment for students, faculty, and staff that emphasizes the history and culture of Chicanos/Latinos and promotes recognition and understanding of their contributions to society. CSUF was designated a Hispanic Servicing Institution in 2004, to that end, CRC programming supports the recruitment, retention, and advancement of Chicano/Latino students.
As the Chicano/Latino population increases at the university (now approachong 30%) and in the surrounding community, demand for the services provided by the CRC has risen. With continued maintenance of a strong research collection, the CRC will continue to meet the needs of programs and departments within the university as well as the greater Orange County community.